We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell to your Saves list
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were surprised that this place was pretty nice, overall. While it is old and seems lost in the 1950's, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was sparse, but enough the get us going in the morning. The clerks were friendly and helpful, and we had a coupon for a cheaper rate. This is not your high end hotel, but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
38
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teguzco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

At first glance, the Thunderbird seemed adequate to our needs. The double room was spacious, the refrigerator cold and the lighting a bit dim. But the closer we looked, the less we liked it. The hot tub was cloudy, the door to the room stuck and it seemed as if some of the guests were long term residents. How else explain the women watching television in the lobby, chatting with the desk clerk as we came in the first evening? That in itself is not really a problem. Being "shushed" by them as we chatted on our way to our room was.

The beds were marginal. The Wi-Fi was erratic, the connection coming and going. More problematic was the fact that our iPods couldn't connect at all because logging on required a two step process: selecting a router and then starting the browser to log on at a third party website. It may be possible but we couldn't manage it with anything other than our laptop - which wouldn't stay connected except when used in the breakfast area.

Speaking of breakfast: it's advertised as a "deluxe continental breakfast" but wasn't anything more than donuts, cereal and toaster waffles.

Television is standard definition with cable and a fair selection of channels.

The bath was small but clean, though the shampoo packets that require you tear them open with wet hands were a challenge.

Lighting is a pet peeve. Ideally, each person will have a light to read by. Here, as at so many other motels, there were two lights located between the two beds. Those of us on the outside of the beds did not have sufficient light for reading.

If all you want is a low price at a motel just off the freeway, the Thunderbird may work for you. But low prices were the rule at many of the area motels in mid-May, 2012. What drew us there were the things that didn't work for us when we arrived. We won't be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very pleased with our one night stay, we had two adjoining rooms on the first floor per our request. Very nice lady at the check in. The property is older, but very very well kept and super clean. Our room was large with a flat screen, fridge and micro, all at a reasonable rate. We would stay again if we are in the area. Nice and quite also....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised that this "bargain" motel was also renovated and clean with very nice rooms. The management was very friendly and our stay was a welcome (and economical) pleasure...Thanks..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed one night, had two rooms. They accommodated our need for ground floor, as we wanted to have our motorcycles close to the room. Had exterior and interior doors. Rooms were BIG. But one of the first rooms had the AC from the upper floor dripping on us as we walked in and out and the floor was very wet. They got us a different room immediately. Yeah, it's old and a little worn, but it's reasonable, right off the freeway, many restaurants close by to walk to and down town a mile or so away. Great lobby, great staff and we got a better rate when we called for reservations, rather than doing it online.

Room Tip: Lower rooms had interior and exterior doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stay at the Thunderbird about once a year. It is an older property a bit rough around the edges but well cared for. Get your picture taken on the big bunny out front. Good local next to an average cafe and McDonald's. Rooms clean shower drains work well plenty of hot water. Heater in room 47 is all or nothing. Talked to the front desk and they said they would sort that out. Staff seem to have been there for years. Very helpful and professional. Reservations are easy to make and rooms are ready when we arrive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed at the Thunderbird Lodge for one night in August 2011. Located right off the freeway, 10 minutes to Corn Palace. More reasonable than even the Super 8 across the street. About $67 for the night. Clean decent sized room. Has neat old character. Basic continental breakfast in morning (toast, toaster waffles, cereal etc.) Great stop off point if traveling across South Dakota.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Address: 1601 S Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.