We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the Corn Palace and Hit the Depot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot Pub and Grill

The Depot Pub and Grill
210 S Main St, Mitchell, SD 57301-3422
605-996-9417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Mitchell
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“See the Corn Palace and Hit the Depot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On a business trip to Sioux Falls, we needed gas and food, and on a whim, made a side-trip to the Corn Palace in Mitchell. At the Corn Palace, the nice ladies making up popcorn bags tipped us off to The Depot as a good local spot and right down the street (210 South Main -- (605) 996-9417) And we thoroughly enjoyed it for lunch. Owner John Foster has done a very nice job with the old freight depot that in many towns now just sit abandoned.

They have a wide range of interesting beers on tap, (we abstained but it's good to know for future reference) and a good menu selection. One of our party had a "chicken cordon bleu sandwich with chicken, ham, and cheese which was great. Two of us had a prime rib french dip which was wonderful with really good fries.

It was just after the lunch hour, and the service was attentive and quick. We didn't encounter any of the downsides that some of the other reviewers apparently experienced, and had a very nice lunch. If we're in town at lunch or dinner, we'll definitely try it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    39
    15
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Service is friendly but food in average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Service was really friendly but the food was average. Nice place to spend an evening during the week if you are a business traveler. Drinks and average meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Service however the food was lacking...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

In town on business again and after havng been to Chef Louie's many times I was looking for someplace else.

Seeing the reviews on the Depot I figured this would be as good as any place to try.
Well good news and bad.

I was greeted promptly at the door. My waiter was right there, however when I ordered my food I needed to show him the menu because he didn't understand the choices for my menu selection.

The Asparagas Chowder soup was very good. However my choice The Depot Dinner Steak an 8oz Top Sirloin had an off favor to it. After trying a couple of bites just to be sure I didn't imagine this, I gave up on the steak and ate my bread instead.

I didn't report it to my waiter because by this point I didn't want it to be replaced.

So this could have just been something weird but, I did enjoy the Chowder.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was not very warm and the service was very slow. We were offered the chance to order more drinks because the kitchen was so slow.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presho, South Dakota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere with Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed the unique architectural features of the Depot Restaurant. Take a few minutes to study the high ceilings & unusual windows.
I chose the delicious French onion soup & the huge shaved ham sandwich. (1/2 a sandwich is an option). Others in my party chose hamburgers, club sandwiches, and French dip with a variety of potato sides. Everyone was pleased with their meals. Prices were very competitive.
We will certainly return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Depot Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot Pub and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.