We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachlight Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coachlight Motel to your Saves list
Coachlight Motel
1000 W Havens Ave, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a very clean and nice family owned motel. I would stay at this motel again and again. The owner was very accommodating to the time we arrived. Coffee and donuts were available in the morning at checkout. My kids asked the next night if we could stay in another Flashlight.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised that other reviews don't mention the large number of long-term residents here. We had room 23 around back, and there were several people standing around drinking with all their doors hanging open. Several kettle grills and charcoal, so you could tell they were staying a while. It didn't feel unsafe or anything, but I can see how that would be a turn-off for many.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, so that's what counts the most. We also appreciated the hot water and strong water pressure in the shower. But there was a kind of sad, rundown feel to the place. Check-in was easy and the family was very friendly. It was a budget choice, and we knew that. But we have definitely stayed in nicer $60 rooms. And would not choose to stay there again if we found ourselves in Mitchell.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room and very nice front desk staff. We stayed here while traveling and based on trip advisor reviews and the price, we chose this. Was a good decision and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Coachlight Motel. It is a great alternative to the higher priced chain locations. The owners really care about their guest and comfort. The room was very clean and well appointed. The shower has plenty of hot water, good water pressure, and a curtain that bows out so there is no clammy clinging while you shower. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great night's sleep. Nice to have a fridge in the room. The internet had a very good connection. Liked the parking right outside our door. We will make it a point to stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good value. Clean spacious room, good bed, perfect heating. everything very clean. An reasonably priced. Most of these hotel chain should send some staff there to learn how a motel should be run.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I give this property 4 stars based on the value of this room. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. I enjoy being able to back up my truck right at my room door, and being able to bring my dog in the room. There's a gas station next door if you need to fill up or get any snacks. I will be coming back to this place any time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side are farther away from the gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, in
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stopped here on the way out west for a quick sleep, after reading the positive tripadvisor reviews. Was not disappointed. Paid under $60 for a good clean room. Friendly and professional at front desk. A couple minutes off I-90.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachlight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachlight Motel

Address: 1000 W Havens Ave, Mitchell, SD 57301
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coachlight Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachlight Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.