We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   810 E Spruce Street, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fine place to stay for a night. Convenient in and out with a clean room and a solid breakfast.
My wife, myself and our three children fit comfortably in the suite. The service was fine and the staff was friendly. Recommened for a night or two.

Room Tip: The suite was large enough to sleep a family of five, children aged 8-14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    56
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
49
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rooms were nice, breakfast was good and the slide was great fun. Oh and the customer service was top notch. We were headed for Yellowstone National Park and this hotel made the first leg of our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is located close to the highway and lots of big box stores and chain restaurants. If that type of setting interests you, then you will love this place.

The hotel is quite busy, so there were a lot of people around (and at breakfast), and it also made it impossible for us to get a room on the first floor, due to the fact that they were sold out.

Our room was a good size and clean. There was some noise, though, due to trains passing nearby. The free breakfast provided included pancakes as well as many other items.

Overall, it was a good place for us to stop, and if in the area, I would not hesitate to stay there again. If you stay here, make sure to visit downtown Mitchell, which is nearby.

Room Tip: Get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to stop between Deadwood & Minneapolis and we settled on This property. It was clean and comfortable, complimentary breakfast was the standard HIE fare. Wifi was free but very inconsistent would drop in & out. Close to plenty of fast food and a Walmart. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family of four spent the night during our annual road-trip! Very comfortable accommodations in a great location!
We visited the adjacent Cabela's, Dimock Dairy for cheese, the Corn Palace and Corona Village Mexican Restaurant!
Everyone we met was wonderful and friendly! The breakfast buffet was excellent!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainard, Nebraska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and kids (8, 6, and 2) stayed here for our trip to and from the Black Hills. This was a comfortable and relaxing stay. The pool and slides were great way to burn off some energy after being in the car all day. The kids pool and slide were a nice addition for our 2 year old. Be sure to visit the Corn Palace and Prehistoric Indian Village, both great for the family to visit while in town.

Room Tip: Room by the pool can be quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This HI Express is fairly new and very clean. The front desk staff were very nice. We were so tired and just wanted a good night sleep. All evening and until about 1 a.m. we heard kids running up and down the hall screaming and laughing, doors slamming, etc. I went out to ask them to quiet down and saw we had a girls softball team staying on our floor. Imagine a bunch of teenage girls running loose and you can about imagine how loud it was. At one point they were even sitting in the hallway laughing and giggling.

The continental breakfast was truly awful. The "eggs" were watery and grainy. It was so crowded and you couldn't really get anything else unless you wanted to push and shove a bunch of bunch of people out of the way.

This hotel seemed to draw families with lots of small kids (or traveling sports teams). I think the big water slide and pool and free breakfast is what brings them in. For a couple traveling without kids and wanting some quiet this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear petunia2030,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I am concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered and regret the inconvenience this has caused you. Although we cannot account for the actions of our other guests, we can work to smooth uncomfortable situations to make all guests feel comfortable and welcomed. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that you give us again the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell

Address: 810 E Spruce Street, Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Mitchell Municipal AirportCome and enjoy our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, SD. Our hotel is conveniently located just five miles from the famous Corn Palace and within walking distance of the world's foremost outfitter, Cabela's .Your family can enjoy staying at our hotel in Mitchell, South Dakota, located just off I-90 your gateway to Mt. Rushmore, Badlands and the Black Hills. The location offers you easy access to numerous local attractions including the Dakota Discovery Museum, and the Prehistoric Indian Village. Other nearby attractions include Lake Mitchell and the Model Car Museum. Golfing, shopping and dining are also minutes away.Business travelers can appreciate the comfortable accommodations at our hotel. This Mitchell hotel offers close proximity to many local companies such as Graphic Packaging International, Innovative Systems, Toshiba, Dakota Manufacturing and Dakota Weslyan University. In addition, our hotel provides meeting space for up to 50 people, as well as business services that include free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While you stay at our Mitchell, SD hotel, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool with a water slide and a large hot tub. You can start your day right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar and keep up your daily routine by using our on-site Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mitchell
Holiday Inn Express Mitchell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.