We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant KOA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell KOA

Mitchell KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell KOA
Save
You added Mitchell KOA to your Saves list
41255 Sd Highway 38, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A pleasant KOA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our RV,and it was mostly fine. Nice grounds, good facilities, clean pool. Only downsides were quite a lot of road noise at night, plus a blocked shower outlet in the men's bathroom in the morning. Sites were quite big enough and staff were friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Found this KOA on the internet for return trip from Rapid City. Everybody working here we met was very nice and helpful. We pitched our worn-out grill at the last stop but wanted to enjoy the evening and the owner offered to lend us a grill - fantastic service. The site is quiet, far from I-90, very level with lots of pull throughs and plenty of room for pet walks; lots of trees too. Showers and restrooms were clean and large; they even had a community dishwashing sink, something I have not seen in a very long time. I would definitely stay here again. There were three of us with a 25-foot Class C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Such a nice campground. First time camping in KOA and was very impressed. Short distance from corn palace. Sites are very nice. Bathrooms are clean as are showers. Water pressure is nice and strong in showers. Didn't utilize pool but it was clean. Firewood for sale. Nice quiet spot. Owners are very very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

In farm country this campground met our expectations. Good tree shaded campsite, hookups worked, bathrooms clean and good conditions, staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was nice and cool, Kiddie Golf was good and fun for family. Nice small gravel road through campground.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very small but clean campground. Most sites are at least partially shaded and very easy to get into regardless of what you are driving. Bathrooms are very clean as are the showers. Staff was friendly and got us to our site quickly. Sites are on the smaller side, but it wasn't crowded at all so we were fine. Even if it was crowded, staying 1 night wouldn't be an issue. There is mini golf, and a basic swingset area for the kids. Has a small pool but we didn't use it. Appeared to be taken care of and other kids were enjoying it. All in all nice place to spend a night when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

As usual, I will start with pros and cons.

Pros: The campground was easy to find. Check in was easy. The grounds were clean. The restrooms were clean. They had three shower stalls instead of two in the ladies' room, so I never had to wait to shower. Mini golf was free. The bike rental was a reasonable rate and the bikes were in good shape. There were plenty of designated areas to exercise pets. The swimming pool was clean and in good condition. They had a nice area for tent campers to wash dishes. I didn't use the laundry room, but it also looked clean and well-maintained. They had a nice sand pile for the kids to dig around in. The campsites are all level pull thrus and were larger than those at many other commercial campgrounds. The location is convenient to the town of Mitchell. There are large trees on the majority of sites to provide shade. There is a storm shelter under the laundry room in the event of a tornado. The owners seemed friendly and attentive.

Cons-The playground could use some more modern equipment. Our traveling companions had no fire ring (although they never tried asking for one). The pool temp was 64 degrees. Not sure if it's unheated or if it hadn't heated up yet due to the fact that it was early in the season. There were quite a few flies for the time of year due to the proximity of farm animals.

Just wanted to clarify the traffic noise situation mentioned in previous posts. Very little noise can be heard from I-90, which is a half mile away. However, Hwy 38 runs past the front side of the campground and you do hear some noise from that particular road. I would suggest requesting a campsite in the back half of the campground. We were in the back half and weren't disturbed by traffic noise, and we're light sleepers.

If we returned to the Mitchell area to camp, I would most likely choose this campground again.

Room Tip: Choose a site in the back half of the campground if you don't care for traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here recently for one night on our way to Mt. Rushmore. This was our very first time in a campground -- we were renting an RV for this trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we found this campground to be very nice. There was a lot of shade and the sites were clean. The restrooms and showers were clean and the pool was clean. The kids loved the miniature golf and the pool. We liked the fact that it was quiet and peaceful. Although very convenient to the interstate, you heard no highway noise at all since you were far enough away from it. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay overnight on your way through SD.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitchell KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell KOA

Address: 41255 Sd Highway 38, Mitchell, SD 57301
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mitchell
Number of rooms: 79

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.