We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Typical Americinn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison

AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison
504 SE 10th Street, Madison, SD 57042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not A Typical Americinn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Sadly, the desk person's poor attitude probably had a negative effect on our stay. The rooms were not as clean as I normally expect at an Americinn. The whole staff seemed to be unfriendly, which is unusual at Americinn. We probably won't be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
3
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed one night, but the property was very clean and staff was helpful. I thought it was new, but from other reviews, perhaps it was recently remodeled. Good breakfast, nice pool & hot tub. Couldn't ask for anything more in this price range!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This property is undergoing a remodel. The improvements are welcome and make for a pleasant stay. The updated color scheme and addition of table lamps with outlets built in makes the rooms more comfortable and enjoyable. Spoke with the front desk person who informed me that they are going to have all the rooms updated before summer. Staff is friendly and helpful. Housekeeping is very good. Two downsides, no fitness center and the coffee leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

After reading the lukewarm (at best) reviews, I was a little nervous about my stay at this hotel, but any reservations were quickly put to rest. The staff was friendly and hellpful, the room was very clean and well-maintained, and the bed was comfortable. A plus was a view of a nice, green field out my window (I was in room 115). I didn't try the breakfast, but had a fridge and microwave in my room. The wifi worked just fine. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I had 115, so the rooms on that side look out onto a grassy field, rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

If you have to stay in Madison, and are hunting, working construction or the like, this is as good a choice as any. It's centrally located, reasonably quiet, and more or less clean. This Americinn is quite worn and run-down. Towels are threadbare and yellow. Fitted sheets don't fit and pop off during the night. Carpets are threadbare and not exactly clean. The caulking in the bathroom is yellow, cracked and peeling. Lights are dim. Furniture is worn and stained. Smoke from the smoking rooms permeates the hallways and non-smoking rooms. The table and chairs in the room were creaky and uncomfortable. The sink drain was so slow I used the tub tap to brush my teeth. The internet connection is pretty fast. My main objection is the value. If the hotel had bargain prices, I would tolerate all this. For the same price, however, I can find better accommodations in Watertown or Brookings, both of which are less than an hour away (in good weather).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I have been traveling to Madison for over 10 years with my business, and I can tell you Madison really needed a new hotel. I have been staying at the AmericInn now everytime I go to Madison. They have a really friendly staff and they have all the perks you need when you travel, Wireless Internet is important to me and they have it, Their breakfast just keeps getting better, they alternate Biscuits and gravy with Eggs and Sausage. Plus they have Hot Waffles everyday. The indoor pool and jacuzzi is really nice, all though my schedule does not allow me to use it very often. The rooms are quite too so you sleep really good. Very Clean, Very Nice. Prices are fair. I would recommend them to anyone. It is like home away from home

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

I am a travel agent - in over 20 years in this industry, I have never had a hotel change rates on me (or my clients) when you arrive at the front desk. This property did!!!
I contacted the property directly as I could not get the nonsmoke rooms guaranteed with my computer system..... So, you are quoted one rate but when you check in- GUESS WHAT? - the rate is higher. As it turned out the suite rooms were only $5.00 more then my newly quoted surprise rate - so we did all change.

My room was filthy too, especially the bathroom. Tub gooey with scum, tub base dirty, large crack in floor with dirt settled in. Photo's coming soon.....
Family members who had another room had a dirty microwave and also a dirty bathroom.
The free continental breakfast - BEWARE here too. I took photos of the milk in the dairy case. It was the mornings of October 6th and 7th and the X date on the milk was September 30th. The morning of the 7th they had put milk with the X date of October 17th in the case - and mixed it amongst the expired milk!!!!! They DID NOT remove the expired milk.
I would have gone to a different hotel but was under the 24 hour cancel penalty.
The older woman at the desk blamed the rate raise on an employee who was no longer there - is that my fault? Also, I could have got the rate in my computer but not the no-smoke room guarantee.
Beware travelers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was pretty bad overall.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison

Address: 504 SE 10th Street, Madison, SD 57042
Location: United States > South Dakota > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.