We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madison SD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Madison to your Saves list
Super 8 Madison
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 N. Highland Ave., Jct. Hwy 34 & 81, Madison, SD 57042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Arnold
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Madison SD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

OK. The room was fine with the exception of the shower stall which smelled mildewy from the leaking ceiling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    19
    17
    13
See reviews for
34
7
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was in town for a conference and found the Super 8 clean, well kept and staffed with nice people. It is hard to find someplace like this when traveling through relatively small towns...but for the price it was a good deal...

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I chose this hotel room because of the economical price. The outward appearance of the hotel is also pretty scary. I was a little worried pulling up.

They are in the process of painting, as the floorboards were still splattered. I read other reviews about how they were renovating and painting, and those reviews were in May, so four months later they are still "renovating." The bulbs were out in the bathroom, and one of the globes on the vanity lights was missing. The floor didn't look well vaccumed. There were crumbs and dirt in the corners. The desk/night stand was also busted.

All that being said, the sheets/bedding were clean, as well as the towels. The beds were also pretty comfortable. We didn't have any issues with the AC or anything.

If you're looking for a economical room and you're not hung up on the decorating, then this would be an acceptable place to stay. If you've got higher standards, they won't be met.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Overall the motel is nice. Front desk people very friendly! I think maybe the motel could use some updating in the bathroom flooring. The bed were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been all over North America and have stayed in a wide variety of hotels, motels, & dumps, but this one is by far the worst! First of all, I must note that the staff did the best they could, but they were as frustrated as the travellers. Apparently the owner who lives out of town sent his manager out of town for the past month to run another motel(into the ground?). The staff are untrained in running a motel and have no authority or finances to call repair services, like a locksmith! My situation was that due to a funeral we had to scrounge for a place to stay. The problems were as follows, the door lock was broken, they offered us a different room, but it was a smoking room that was so nasty that it would've gagged a maggot! The owner came up to fix the lock, but just because you have a screwdriver and hammer doesn't make you a locksmith! I should know...I was a Certified Locksmith for 15+ years. The staff said they could secure the room and unlock it manually for us and due to no other options being available and they were going to give a discount, we decided to stay. Our mistake! It was around 11PM when we finally got into our room. We found that the lock wouldn't even lock from the inside. The peephole was broken and anyone could look into the room. The room looked like it had newer paint and they had new flatsceen TV. The linens looked clean, but the carpets were filthy with lots of stains and gum(?) stuck in it. I never took my shoes off until I got into bed. I even found gum stuck on the wall! The air conditioner was barely able to maintain a liveable temperature. The microwave didn't work. The lamp shades were stained. I didn't see any signs of pests...I guess even they have higher standards! When we opened the door to the hallway in the morning the odors made me gag! I ran into several people that were also here for the funeral and we all had stories of woe from staying overnight at this dump! I will never stay here again! I need a shower, perhaps a penicillin shot, and I think I need to incinerate my clothing and luggage!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Madison

Address: 219 N. Highland Ave., Jct. Hwy 34 & 81, Madison, SD 57042
Location: United States > South Dakota > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Madison 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quite, clean and very friendly establishment. We have air conditioned rooms for a comfortable nights stay, and we also have a free continental breakfast to get the day started off right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Madison
Madison Super 8
Madison Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.