We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good, not great, but not bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Lodge and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blackstone Lodge and Suites to your Saves list
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Glendale, Lead, SD 57754 (Formerly Palace Express Lead)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lead
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good, not great, but not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our room was cheap, but sufficient. It was a bit noisy, as it was right next to the road, but when all you need is a hot shower and soft bed after driving through the Black Hills all day, then it was fine. I had also reserved the "jacuzzi suite" for our return trip (we drove from Minneapolis to the black hills to yellowstone), thinking that it would be nice to have a hot tub in our room after all the driving we had been doing. Well, the room does have a big tub, but not a jetted tub. Just a huge bath tub. The room was larger than the previous $35 room we had stayed in on the way to yellowstone, and a bit nicer, but I was a bit disappointed in the lack of an actual jacuzzi.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite lacks an actual jacuzzi- it is just a large bath tub. I wouldnt use the community...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    28
    3
    9
See reviews for
27
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Couldn't believe there was such a thing as a hotel room for thirty-five dollars!!! I thought there had to be a catch somewhere. Nope! Very friendly from the front desk to the housekeeper. Yep, they have a toast bar for breakfast. Never heard of it, but that's what it was. Toast, peanut butter, jam, honey, juice and coffee. But then, we only paid a total of 37 dollars and change! I did check out motels about 3 miles down the road and it was about a hundred dollars more. This is a budget motel but extremely clean and quiet. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect for the price. What a bargain. NO bugs! Helpful staff. Good water pressure. Private bathrooms in all rooms. (some web sights made it sound as though bathrooms were shared). Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

10th consecutive stay for Kool Deadwood Nights event. Over the years there have been a few minor glitches, but all were addressed promptly & cheerfully. Stayed in all types of rooms (basic - street side/hill side, garden tub room, executive suite): All very clean, very adequate. Realistic pricing when compared to rates at Deadwood (5 minutes away). Coffee/juice 24 hours. Friendly staff (always ending conversations with "Thank you for staying with us"). We're booked for next year again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights this past week. The hotel is clean and the staff is nice. The rates are very reasonable but that's mainly because it is an older hotel. They do not have a pool but there is a hot tub. They have wifi and a very basic breakfast (not enough for my kids but ok).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Palace Express does not have a lot of frills, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Hot Tub is a run of the mill backyard spa tub, and if you do not mind a sparse room with a big tub amid a windowed room with bright florescent lights - try it...we didn't. Our room had two doubles, a small sofa in front of the TV, table w/2 chairs, small fridge & microwave. The kitchenette area counter houses the bathroom sink & large mirror. A strange layout,,but it works and it was large and roomy - not a bed, dresser & table standard hotel room size - but a bed on one side, and the other across the room with TV/sofa in the middle. If we had the 3 small grandkids it would have been room enough. We have stayed at 5 star resorts and expect grand amenities, but for the price, the Palace Express was well worth it for us. I almost forgot - coffee & 3 types juice all day, and light breakfast in the common room. A big plus for me - the shower always had hot water !.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel is not the cutest I've seen but the rates are unbeatable and it's clean and good locates to visit the attractions in the area. Breakfast is basic but ok. Wi-fi is fast. All in all more than ok, would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Lodge and Suites

Address: 395 Glendale, Lead, SD 57754 (Formerly Palace Express Lead)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackstone Lodge and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Blackstone Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Express Lead Hotel Lead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Lodge and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.