We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Express Lead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palace Express Lead to your Saves list
Palace Express Lead
395 Glendale, Lead, SD 57754   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Couldn't believe there was such a thing as a hotel room for thirty-five dollars!!! I thought there had to be a catch somewhere. Nope! Very friendly from the front desk to the housekeeper. Yep, they have a toast bar for breakfast. Never heard of it, but that's what it was. Toast, peanut butter, jam, honey, juice and coffee. But then, we only paid a total of 37 dollars and change! I did check out motels about 3 miles down the road and it was about a hundred dollars more. This is a budget motel but extremely clean and quiet. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    28
    3
    9
See reviews for
27
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect for the price. What a bargain. NO bugs! Helpful staff. Good water pressure. Private bathrooms in all rooms. (some web sights made it sound as though bathrooms were shared). Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

10th consecutive stay for Kool Deadwood Nights event. Over the years there have been a few minor glitches, but all were addressed promptly & cheerfully. Stayed in all types of rooms (basic - street side/hill side, garden tub room, executive suite): All very clean, very adequate. Realistic pricing when compared to rates at Deadwood (5 minutes away). Coffee/juice 24 hours. Friendly staff (always ending conversations with "Thank you for staying with us"). We're booked for next year again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights this past week. The hotel is clean and the staff is nice. The rates are very reasonable but that's mainly because it is an older hotel. They do not have a pool but there is a hot tub. They have wifi and a very basic breakfast (not enough for my kids but ok).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Palace Express does not have a lot of frills, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Hot Tub is a run of the mill backyard spa tub, and if you do not mind a sparse room with a big tub amid a windowed room with bright florescent lights - try it...we didn't. Our room had two doubles, a small sofa in front of the TV, table w/2 chairs, small fridge & microwave. The kitchenette area counter houses the bathroom sink & large mirror. A strange layout,,but it works and it was large and roomy - not a bed, dresser & table standard hotel room size - but a bed on one side, and the other across the room with TV/sofa in the middle. If we had the 3 small grandkids it would have been room enough. We have stayed at 5 star resorts and expect grand amenities, but for the price, the Palace Express was well worth it for us. I almost forgot - coffee & 3 types juice all day, and light breakfast in the common room. A big plus for me - the shower always had hot water !.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel is not the cutest I've seen but the rates are unbeatable and it's clean and good locates to visit the attractions in the area. Breakfast is basic but ok. Wi-fi is fast. All in all more than ok, would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After viewing various reviews of this hotel we decided to stay and found it was great. The room (301) was at the front of the hotel, but not noisy. It was very spacious, more like a small apartment than a hotel room and very clean and comfortable. There were two queen size beds, table & chairs, a desk and even a comfortable arm chair. We didn't mind the toast and juice breakfast as we had a fridge and microwave in the room and had our own cereal and milk if we wanted it. There was free WIFI that worked every time. We would definitely stay here again as close to all the major attractions and drives within the area and great value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Found room 301 facing the front of the building good as airy and spacious and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Express Lead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Express Lead

Address: 395 Glendale, Lead, SD 57754
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Express Lead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Express Lead Hotel Lead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Express Lead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.