We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roosevelt Suite was a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spearfish Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Roosevelt Suite was a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here on our vacation and enjoyed the lodge very much. My only comment is that having the private deck with views was a major reason we picked this particular room. The views are actually overlooking the Latchstring Inn across the road and the canyon views are not special from this as compared to other rooms. My hopes as I am a photographer to have a private deck to shoot awesome shots from and it was not what I was hoping for.
The room itself and the appointments were wonderful and the service was excellent. Had I not wanted the deck for photography shots I would have been completely happy with the room. The staff was great and for military folks, ask for the discount. We received 10% off for my husband being a veteran. Show the card and get your discount at checkout. :>)

Room Tip: The regular rooms are very nice and the suites are large and nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    55
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
36
97
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Set in a beautiful canyon through which the Spearfish River flows, the lodge gives the rustic feel of an old-time lodge. Yet, it's comfortable and up-to-date, and the visitor never gets the feeling that they are "roughing it". We arrived at the lodge at 7:00 p.m. after a long day at Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Jewel Cave, and were made to feel right at home by the very warm and helpful staff. The room was nicely appointed, and the great room of the lodge is beautiful and inviting.
We spent two days hiking and exploring in the area - with some time relaxing in the hot tub in between. The restaurant was first-rate, both for breakfast and dinner. I was sad to leave after only two days, and our days there were the high point of our ten-day trip to the Dakotas and Minnesota. Do yourself a favor and spend at least a night or two here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is impeccably clean, rooms are spacious w/ everything you could need. Large lobby/common room with fire place, many comfortable seats, games to play. A very calm, peaceful atmosphere! Staff are extremely helpful and knowledgable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent 2 days here on a Living Social deal. The surrounding area is BEAUTIFUL. The staff is friendly. If you are sight seeing to the area (Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc.) it is a LOOOONG drive. The wireless internet access was spotty at best. Cell phone coverage about the same. Despite that, It is a WONDERFUL getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My fiancée and I spent two nights here at the end of May. Despite a driving rainstorm that resulted in us getting in at 1 am, the lady at the front desk was very pleasant...as was all those that worked at SCL. The lobby is beautiful and it's a warm and inviting place to enjoy a free cup of coffee or a cold beer from the bar.

Rooms look to be a little dated but they are certainly comfortable. Only complaint I would have is that the walls are thin, but again, you shouldn't be expecting the 4 seasons out here. Our trip to South Dakota over 5 nights was wonderful and we were more than happy to spend 2 of them here. And at roughly $90 a night, in some of the most scenic country in the USA, it's a bargain.

Room Tip: Just bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here June of 2012 with a Groupon and we were very happy! The room was a bit smaller than I expected for a suite, but it was fine. My biggest complaint was the AC unit didn't work almost the whole time we were there, and the maintenance staff looked at it several times with no adjustments made or apologies or discounts given. Other than that, the hot tub on the deck was nice for some late-night relaxation, wish there was a pool. The restaurant across the street was okay, nothing horrible or amazing. Staff was not very friendly, but I'm not in the morning either. :-) I would definitely stay here again, although it was a little bit of a drive to other Black Hills towns and attractions. Walking trails nearby hotel were great scenic areas with the Spearfish Falls nearby as well.

Room Tip: Be prepared to have no AC based on other reviews I've seen as well as my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Mt Rushmore. It was an elegant hotel, but a bit pricey especially since there was no pool and breakfast was not included. The rooms were nice and there was a restaurant across the street. There was a creek outside and rocking chairs on the porch. We drove up the road and looked at the waterfalls. It was a very pretty area to explore, but we didn't have much time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spearfish Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.