We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Spearfish Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lead
Moore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent two nights at the Spearfish Canyon Lodge recently on vacation. What a treat to find the lodge in such serene and peaceful surroundings. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby was inviting and a wonderful place to read or gather with family. The room had a perfectly delightful little stuffed bear named Dakota on the bed with two robes to use for our visit. At first, we were a little distressed that the air conditioner was an energy saver that only came on at a certain temperature but we turned the fan on and opened the window and before morning we were scrambling for a blanket because of the cool canyon air. The Latchstring Restaurant was a delightful surprise with excellent food. The waterfall was a wonderful surprise. Can't wait to come back to the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    23
    12
    12
See reviews for
31
84
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lovely place. Make sure you go on the trails. Pack some sandwhiches, because there are numerous picnic areas. Bring peanuts for the chipmunks.

Room Tip: Room faced a stream-could hear it babbling from our room,nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The beds in this property are beyond heavenly!!! The property is well maintained and clean. It was a comfortable stay! The restaurant is across road and has good food and average prices. The great room and hot tubs were excellent!! definitely would recommend this off the beaten path property!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Medium size room with 2 double beds, table, 2-drawer dresser, TV, nightstand, medium bathroom, 2 chairs, closet in bedroom, washbowl in room, and bathrobe.

The setting was beautiful and a hike along the Roughblock Nature trail to the waterfall is serene and lined with wild flowers. It is not a difficult hike. I wished we had stayed longer so I could go back.

Restaurant was very good and manager excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a gorgeous lobby, and what a superb location for an active Western vacation. Our room was a good one, which was a bit of a disappointment after being exposed to the great common areas. The hot tubs were a welcome answe to days of heavy hiking. Both the hotel and the adjoining Latchstring restaurant had uneven staffing, as perhaps is inevitable in out-of-the-way locations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Let me start with the negatives: Okay first the exposed: my wife and I were in the expansive and more expensive bridal suite. When bare together in our bathroom jacuzzi, we felt very exposed as this was the time the hotel decided they were going to have a crew stain the wood on the exterior of the lodge. Although our wooden slats over all our windows were closed as much as possible, there was no doubt that the workers could peer with ease into our bathroom. After all we could see him out there right through that window! The hotel staff should have warned all guests of this possibility or perhaps scheduled this staining at another time. That spoiled matters a bit. Now the maintenance issues: the kitchen cabinets in our housekeeping room were not clean and 3 light bulbs in this suite were burned out and we needed to go to the front desk for replacements. There were also virtually no kitchen utensils despite being a housekeeping room. Lastly there are no elevators here so if you are on the second floor as we were and you have lots of luggage, you will get quite a workout hauling your luggage up to your room. Now the positives: The lodge is a lovely wood cabin in a gorgeous setting with hiking opportunities very close by. One more point: The restaurant (Latchstring) across the street owned by the lodge, is the only one close by, but was dirty (floors and uncleared tables) with indoor flies and mediocre food but good service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Last night, we had the pleasure of an overnight at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, near the Wyoming/South Dakota border. As we approached the hotel, we meandered along the banks of a beautiful scenic stream. Suddenly, the roadway opened up to reveal the resort and its restaurant across the street. They meshed so beautifully with the landscape. As we entered, we discovered that the hotal was hosting a wedding that afternoon, and a string ensemble was rehearsing pieces that we had selected for our daughter's wedding a few years ago. We were so impressed with the scene, that we made dinner reservations at the "Latchstring", and enjoyed the short stroll across the street, savoring the beautiful canyon walls, and decorative landscaping. The wedding dinner was being held in a private dining room, and although the kitchen and waitstaff had their hands full, they never missed a beat. We had a fabulous trout almondine dinner, one of the best we have experienced on this trip. There are not enough stars available to rate this real find.

Room Tip: There was no signage to reveal where reception was located. For this reason, we dragged all of our b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spearfish Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spearfish Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.