We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Kadoka

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Kadoka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Kadoka
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Hwy 248, I-90 Exit 150, Kadoka, SD 57543   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Kadoka
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having beat a hasty retreat from the Budget Host we found ourselves at the Rodeway Inn. Paid $89.99 before taxes for a double room in late July on a weeknight.

The good things- clean, lots of towels (five bath towels, five hand towels, five face towels), microwave and fridge.

The not-so-good things: worn carpet which was warped in many places, bedside lamp which did not work (even after we put put good bulbs in it), outside door did not fit properly on the hinges so it opened and closed with a super loud noise (meaning the spouse couldn't leave for an early morning run without waking the rest of us us). Internet comes with the hotel BUT we could not get a signal in our room. Had to go to the lobby to use it. At 11pm it suddenly shut off.

A note written by hand on the paper provided by the motel read, "Please live a tip. Thanx." I can appreciate that making a living in this small town is hard, but a tip should be left for personal service. We did not experience that from anyone at this hotel. We left before 5pm the next day so we didn't see the breakfast.

If we hadn't been so tired we would never have stayed here. I suspect this is the story of Kadoka- no one really wants to stop but everyone is so dog tired they do. Just don't expect much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    15
    6
    16
See reviews for
20
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma, TN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This motel is older and the office does actually reek of nicotine, but our sleeping room was clean. The free continental breakfast was provided at the restaurant next door, with an option instead for a cooked to order breakfast at a discount, which we chose. That breakfast was fine and service friendly. The motel room had three beds (we asked for two beds) which did not serve a problem as there was plenty of room. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. There is a small playground provided by the motel, so we listened to kids yelling and it was at times noisy, but it was summer and good to see the kids having fun. This is not a luxury hotel but will do if you want to get some sleep before or after driving the Badlands. There was a laundry facility but we did not use. Internet was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a night here on our way out to the Badlands. It was a mixed bag. The good: the rooms were large, well appointed, and clean. We had reserved two rooms for our group and were given rooms with communicating doors, which was nice. The restaurant next door (H&H),which is connected with the motel, was convenient and offered a good breakfast. Some of us also enjoyed our dinners, but one in our group ordered the french dip which was revolting. I had a bison burger, which was quite acceptable. On the not so good front: all of our mattresses had rubber covers. Some in our group didn't mind this, but I personally dislike rubber mattress covers, as I always feel damp and clammy sleeping on them. And the really bad thing was that there was absolutely no hot water when we got up at 6:30 a.m. The man at the front desk thought that maybe someone had left their tap on all night, draining the hot water reservoir. Perhaps something they had no control over -- but really, if I'm paying $100 per night for a room, I expect to be able to wash my hair without experiencing brain freeze.

Until we were faced with cold showers, I was fairly well disposed toward this place. I hope that the hot water is a one-time problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Lake, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were headed to a campsite in the Badlands when bad thunderstorms were forecast. We decided to forego the camping and look for a hotel room. We drove by this place twice and finally decided to give it a go. There is a strong cigarette smell in the lobby, but the lady at the desk was nice and the room was reasonably priced, and they let us take our dog in the room with us. The room was clean and big enough for a family of four plus dog. There was a full-size fridge in the lobby where we could store our cooler food over night. Kids enjoyed a swim and the pool was nice and clean. Got dinner at the diner next door; free breakfast next morning was not much (muffins, Danish, toast, juice, coffee) but you could buy breakfast too if you wanted. We were pleasantly surprised and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the pool side of the lobby, they seemed nicer than on the diner side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moberly, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Traveling on a motorcycle all day we were approaching a bad thunderstorm. We arrived at Rodeway because of necessity. We had not planned this destination. At first glance we thought the room was pretty nice for the price. We were hungry and left right away to have dinner next door. When we got back it had started to rain heavily. Within an hour we had returned to the room. My husband walked into the bathroom and turned on the light/fan. He almost fell in the bathroom. There was water "pouring", (not dripping) from the electric fan/light and the floor was flooded with water. We used the towels and waste can to catch the water. When I called the front desk the gentleman's only comment was "do you need more towels for the floor"! We were not given an option to use another room. We were so tired from traveling 600 miles that day we just depended on the wastecan to catch the water and went to sleep. The next morning there were waterbugs in the bathroom. I had felt something also is our bed. There were potato chip crumbs in our bed. No, we did not have a late night snack. They were left from previous visitors - our sheets were not clean sheets. Needless to say we left without a shower and were glad to be gone. What a disgusting place.

Room Tip: Do not even bother stopping in Kadoka. You'd be much better off driving to another city. If we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at around 8:30pm during a thunder and hail storm. The lobby has a cigarette stench probably due to what I assume is the owner's residence.
We were assigned a king size room and schlepped all of our road trip stuff in only to find the room totally unmade. We were then moved next door to another room after I walked over in the rain to get the new key. (They did offer to have the manager bring it over after I asked but could not say when.)
While moving things next door we lost a memory chip the size of a dime. I went back in the rain to the office for the old room key again to search. I asked the older man, who I assume owns the place with his wife, if there was a chance at any compensation off of the room price. He said, "no ma'am" and that was that.
The room is adequate. That's all I will safe. The mattresses are old, but the bathroom appears fresh enough. I have not used it yet, since we're still trying to find our memory chip. Had we not had to move rooms I would be tucked in by now.
I hate that I see another review about an unmade rooms. That's the biggest part of the motel service! A clean room that customers can trust.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

High winds and towering thunderheads frightened me off of I-90, and i needed shelter. The Rodeway was the only chain motel I could see, and I was offered a $50 rate (before tax). I was pleasantly surprised at the size and furnishings of the room. The bed was reasonably comfortable, and nothing was scratched/dented/dirty. It even has a fridge & microwave, and a little dining table w/ two chairs.

There were only two small snags. I could never find the mechanism to divert water to the showerhead & had to make do with a splash bath. Also, the walls are kind of thin. I could vaguely hear the people next door coughing, talking, etc.

Also, you should be aware that the diner in front has closed. Not sure if that's seasonal thing, or if it's just defunct. For dinner, the Club 27 Steakhouse is across the road.

There's little cell service in this region, and I'd neglected to buy a calling card. The manager was kind enough to let me use the motel's phone to update my BF with my location. (Thanks again!)

Room Tip: Try for an end unit - less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Kadoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Kadoka

Address: 915 Hwy 248, I-90 Exit 150, Kadoka, SD 57543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Kadoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Kadoka 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn Kadoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadoka Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Kadoka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.