We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Dakota Hwy, Jct I-90 and Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Gwinn, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This motel is better than the outside looks. It was very reasonably priced. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and not much counter space to put things out. The beds were comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was just basic. It was easy to get to off I-90. It is just a basic motel but good for a place to sleep while on the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure we have clean and comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves in having very friendly staff. We are constantly doing upgrades to property and will keep in mind the counter space in bathrooms. Thank you so much for the suggestion.

Safe Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
30
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks as we were working in the area. The owners Matt and Mary were kind, gracious and made us feel right at home.
The rooms aren't fancy but very confortable and clean with cleaning staff that was consistent and dependable.
Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking time to write your review. Matt and I were so happy to be able to welcome you and your group. We pride ourselves in having clean rooms and having a great housekeeping staff to ensure consistent and dependable service to rooms. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Safe Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The motel was average in every way except price. Location is the east end of the Badlands loop so it catches all of the Midwesterners who want to start the drive early in the morning.
I have to suggest bypassing this town to stay in Wall, SD and double back. It was so much cheaper and you can stop at Wall Drug early to miss the crowd before you do the Badlands Loop.
Arriving in Kadoka at dusk was like starring in a bad horror film. Pretty much all services besides a gas/convenient mart were shut down (not sure if for the season or lack of business over the years?). A very depressing little town with an over priced motel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are very sorry our small town atmosphere wasn't what you were looking for out here on the prairie. Our small town does offer a variety of services. We have the usual small town offerings such as a grocery store, bank, post office. There is also a couple locally owned diners as well as a club/restaurant that offers bar and grill type atmosphere. All of these things are within a few blocks of our hotel. As for the prices we charge, they are competitive with other motels in the area. We are truly sorry you were dissatisfied with our offerings and hope you might try us again next time thru the area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location was perfect if going to the Badlands from the East. The room and bathroom were very clean. It looked like the paint was new. There is a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows compacted very firm during the night. The walls are paper thin, could easily hear voices next door and someone running a vacuum at 6:15 am. I was glad of the noise app on my phone to drown out neighboring noises allowing me to sleep well. Free wi-fi had a strong connection. There was a six plug outlet next to the bed so plenty of outlets for charging electronics. There is no pool or elevator at this motel. The "hot breakfast" consisted of biscuits and gravy as well as instant oatmeal. Cold offerings were cereal and fresh fruit. I would recommend it for an overnight based on location and room cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are glad that everything was up to expectation that allowed you to get a good nights sleep. We are continually working on updating the motel to keep it modern and looking fresh. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Badlands.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a long day on the road this hotel is perfect for an overnight stay. Clean, friendly staff, comfortable. Free wifi, cable, and great breakfast. Best place by far in the area that's updated and modern. Would stay again if ever passing though Kadoka.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves in clean rooms and friendly staff. We are also happy that the breakfast was great to get your day started off right. We are working to keep property up to date and modern. Hope to serve your needs next time you are passing thru the area.

Safe Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The best and only place to stay after driving for hours on the way to Mount Rushmore. Nice, spacious and clean rooms. Best of all friendly people at the front desk. Small breakfast area but good enough. Short driving distance to Wall Drug and Badlands national park. Highly recommends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves in clean rooms and friendly staff at the front desk to greet you. Glad our breakfast was able to meet your needs to get your day started right. Hope to see you on your next travels to our area.

Safe Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked three rooms at this property so we could overnight before spending the next day in the Badlands, then head to Sturgis for Bike Week. The managers, Matt and Mary, were warm and welcoming. Gave us lots of good travel tips, and they keep the place spotless. Breakfast offered a nice, fresh variety. I'd recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We pride ourselves in making everyone feel welcoming and enjoy giving all the travel tips so not to miss the best highlights the area has to offer. Keeping a clean property is a must to us. We are also glad that breakfast had good variety to get your day started off right. Hope to see you next time you decide to go to Sturgis for Motorcycle Rally!

Safe Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 401 South Dakota Hwy, Jct I-90 and Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in Kadoka, South Dakota. Our facility offers spacious Guest Rooms. All our Guest Rooms are furnished with High-Speed Internet Access, Cable TV, Complimentary Local Calls, and Wakeup Service. We also provide a fresh Complimentary Continental Breakfast. For business travelers we offer Fax and Copy service. We have a Dining Room which can be converted to a Meeting Room. Our courteous and experienced Front Desk staff is here to assist you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.