We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Kadoka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Dakota Hwy, Jct I-90 and Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Zebulon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Kadoka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I planned a vacation that required a night's stay before heading to the Badlands, and based on Trip Advisor reviews I selected this hotel. Part of the allure of South Dakota is its remote areas, and Kadoka is a ranching community located along I-90. The hotel looks somewhat modest from the outside, but our room was very comfortable. The bed was as good as I have found while traveling, with full-sized pillows. Breakfast was fairly standard but good, although there was no decaf coffee. Although the hotel was completely booked, we were not bothered by noise from other guests. The couple who manage the hotel are very helpful and quite delightful to talk to. If you need a place to spend the night before heading west to the Badlands, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
30
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were musty and smelled of stale cigarettes. The breakfast was abOut what I expected but that means I had low expectations. Had I paid significantly less it would have been worth it. Keep the price point below 60 to make it a worthy stay. Anymore and you may as well fork over a few more bucks to stay somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Very basic motel, nothing special-just a place to sleep for the night. Just so-so in every way except the woman checking us in was very nice. Someone pulled the fire alarm at the unsecured exit at midnight and the staff didn't really know what to do. In fact the volunteer fire department people that came 10 to 15 later didn't check rooms or verify everything was okay. Luckily we found another place to stay
in Rapid City the next day. Stay someplace else if you can. If this is all you can book just know its not going to be a great experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here because of its location on the east side of Badlands and because of good experiences at other hotels in this chain. It had some good points, most notably the friendly staff at reception and the fluffy towels in the room, which put to shame those at many higher rated hotels. But against this there was no coffee maker in the room and the breakfast was thin and of poor quality, unless you are a fan of biscuits and gravy, which I’m not. It was also quite expensive given its basic facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Feels like the Bates Hotel since Kadoka, SD is made up of this hotel and a gas station or two. The owner is a bit spooky scatterbrained and awkward yet if I lived in Kadoka I would be too!

Given that Kadoka is "the Gateway to the Badlands National Park," this is as close as you can get coming from the East (25 miles away) without staying in the one location within the park (Cedar Pass Lodge). If you're coming from the West, I'd recommend staying in Wall, SD.

-Smoky, mildew smell
-Pet-friendly and offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms
-It may take a while for them to find your reservation (especially if it was done online)
-Free Wi-Fi
-An ultra simple continental breakfast that is set up the night prior

What can you expect for $65 bucks a night?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This use to be a Super 8, and they left.
Rooms were nothing special, but there was hot water, and they are Pet friendly.
Breakfast if that's what you could call it was a disgrace.
Not even good coffee.
We packed up and left and went to Wall Drug in Wall SD for breakfast.
If you are thinking about stopping in Kadoka - don't.
Drive the extra 50 odd miles and have a decent range of Hotels and Motels to choose from.
Never again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Drive the extra 50 miles to Wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

While the rooms were clean and decent, the real gem at this stop is the helpful couple that manage the facility. Drive around Kadoka and you won't find a better place. While it's not a five-star hotel, you will find clean rooms at a reasonable price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 401 South Dakota Hwy, Jct I-90 and Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in Kadoka, South Dakota. Our facility offers spacious Guest Rooms. All our Guest Rooms are furnished with High-Speed Internet Access, Cable TV, Complimentary Local Calls, and Wakeup Service. We also provide a fresh Complimentary Continental Breakfast. For business travelers we offer Fax and Copy service. We have a Dining Room which can be converted to a Meeting Room. Our courteous and experienced Front Desk staff is here to assist you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.