We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eldon, Iowa
1 review
“Had a blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This was a really nice motel. The rooms were clean and overall the staff was very friendly. The nice thing is that they had an indoor and outdoor pool. The motel was close to attractions and there was a grocery store next door. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    120
    49
    8
    14
See reviews for
171
127
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cedar city, utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The grounds are beautiful. Nice indoor/outdoor pools. Our major complaint was because we paid over a hundred dollars a night we expect comfortable beds and they we about the same as sleeping on the floor. The food in the resturant was OK but the service there was poor. They had enought people working but they didn't seem to know what they were doing. The room inself was large and clean but the actual bathroom was VERY small, just enough room for a tub and tiolet.
the sinks were out in the main room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The location was very convenient and much quieter than the godawful Keystone area. What a relief to see the Golden Spike after seeing some of the other places I had contemplated. The pool was a bit disappointing with a bandaid in the pool and one lying on the deck. I was really wanting to relax in the jacuzzi but after watching a woman in there chewing her fingernails and picking her cuticles, I was too grossed out to go near. The pool towels were kid-sized. The room was nice and clean and big enough for us to have a meal at the table. We had breakfast at the restaurant, which was pretty good. (After a week of cold cereal, it's hard to find fault with a hot omelete). Not a bad latte either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

After reading some of the reviews on here we were a little bit leary of the hotel. We booked though pricelines "name your own price" so we got a pretty good rate. We were warmly greeted upon arrival at the hotel. We were given a map at check in of where our room was located - we were in building A. They also have FREE parking and wireless internet.

The building was SPOTLESS. The hallways smelled fresh and clean, and everything looked very, very clean.

When we arrived in our room we were so happy. We were expecting a very basic room - what one would expect from a best western. It was SO NICE!!! We had vauled ceilings, a HUGE kind bed, two chairs, a desk, in room coffemaker, a fridge and microwave.

The bed was comfy and the pillows were great!

This hotel was AWESOME!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We booked two nights at this place through AAA. When we arrived they gave us a free upgrade to a suite since the room we had booked was right next to some construction going on in the hotel. So they gave us the different room away from the construction area. OUr room had a fireplace and kitchen area. We were very pleased with the staff, the room and the location.

We did eat dinner at the attached restaurant and were very disappointed in it. But the hotel itself was great.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The room was nice and large. Staff was friendly. The one thaing they really need are new beds!! The room was on the high side for $75.00 in the off season. I was more than raedy to pay it to get a king size bed. One of the few hotels in town that offer king size beds and takes pets.

The down side is the lack of any type of egg crate or foam pad for the bed. I've never had such a rock hard bed in my life. The front desk tried to help . Matinece offered to put a foam pad inbetween the mattress and wood plank. Told me it would make the bed harder. Still don't see how thsi would be the case. So another blanket was offered to put on top of the rock hard bed. This really didn't help. But at least the front desk tried.

Breakfast was good. Staff was fast and nice. My server forgot to bring cream with the coffee so my husband got up and asked for some. After she never cam back with it.
Guess she just forgot.

The poo, is nice and hot tub is great. The location is still awalk in to twn or you can drive. The super 8 is closer to the main part of town. But had super small queen sized bead s and small cramped rooms. But the price was half of the BW.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

The good -

Good location
Room was clean
Good television channel selection
Bed was reasonably comfortable
Good size room

The not so good -

No Hair Dryers in the rooms (come on!!!)
Noise from the parking lot at all hours
Doors slamming in the morning
A towel in the bathroom was so old it was in shreds
Hallway carpet was worn
NO complementary breakfast
Price was about 25% higher than it should have been

Overall, this hotel is just mediocre. Certainly not great and certainly not terrible.

If the other area hotels are sold out, then I guess this hotel would do. Just do not set your expectations too high.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.