We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
St. Paul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western in Hill City for 5 days. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and we were pleased with it. The breakfast was adequate. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We greatly appreciate you staying with us during your recent trip to the Black Hills. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time and found the hotel to be clean and accommodating. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    119
    48
    8
    13
See reviews for
167
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This Best Western isn't as nice as the one in Cody, WY (Ivy Inn) but it's clean, they make a enormous breakfast every morning, it's included with your hotel rate. We stayed here for 5 days. The staff are wonderful and polite. My husband and I asked them if we could leave our bikes with them while we headed to Cody,WI for 2 days and then we were to check back in at the Golden Spike INN for another night- they accommodated our request without any hassle. They kept our bikes indoor at our request.

Room Tip: if your staying on the first floor, I must warn you that you will hear people running up and down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and use it to continually improve the hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found the Best Western Golden Spike to be accommodating. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed here for 5 nights. I put in reservations back in March for this place due to a recommendation by a co-worker. When we got here and got our room, much to our surprise, it was next to the pool!! They offer free breakfast which is very excellent. We ate in the morning and didn't have to eat again til suppertime. The restaurant in their motel offers specials which are really excellent and their other menu items are very reasonable. One night my granddaughter ordered the chicken tender supper. WOW!! I took a picture of it and posted it on facebook. My friends couldn't beleive the size of those tenders and they were good. The pool is nice and big. They have a hot tub and outside pool which is very nice. If I ever get back out to the black hills, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and your time spent with us. We pride ourselves on providing outstanding customer service and it is great to hear that you experienced that. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The staff was very helpful and the motel is clean and well maintained. I would not recommend eating in the motel restaurant for dinner. Hill City is a lovely town and was close for our visits to MT. Rushmore, Wind Cave and Custer State park. There is an old steam engine ride which was a pleasant activity after hiking too much the day before.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. It is wonderful to hear that the staff was accommodating during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience in the restaurant. We appreciate your comments as they help us to continually improve. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed in a suite with 2 comfortable queen beds on the second floor. The room was huge with folding louvered doors that separated the bedroom and bath area from a couch, coffee table, chair, end tables, computer desk and 1/2 kitchen with breakfast bar. A/C worked well for such a large area, but I did get a fan for when I was on the couch. It was definitely warmer in the room farthest from the A/C. This trip we didn't use the pools/hot tub but we had enjoyed them when we stayed here a few year ago. Internet works great on phone and computer, except one time I couldn't get on, it said there were too many users (very strange).
I was disappointed in the refrigerator, it had no freezer section for the water bottles we usually used in our cooler and was really warm when we arrived. We found in the many days we were there, that adjustment either froze everything or it was warm (difficult to adjust in the cabinet because it was on back). They really need to upgrade this for the suites at a minimum. The bath fan sounded like a jet engine test and you could hear the one in the neighboring bath wasn't any better.
Their breakfast is really good with lots of seating. It was really crowded and we had to wait in a long line around 8:00 - 8:30 so we started going at 9:00-9:30, not crowded and for the most part they didn't run out of any thing. Too bad they placed the waffle makers near a corner because if you want anything in the corner you have to wade through the crowd around waiting for waffles.
Had dinner only once at the hotel restaurant. It took 1 1/2 hours!! Really bad service, the food was good though. We dined else where after that. They do have a really nice coffee bar with delicious bakery goods. Their white chocolate raspberry muffins were to die for!
Hill city is a nice home area which isn't as commercialized as Keystone, located near to Crazy Horse (a must see!) and Rushmore. We really enjoyed the 1880 steam train ride to Keystone and back with a tour of the engine room and the train museum. There was so much to do in the area we stayed one day longer than our reservation, the front desk had no issue with adding the extra day. Overall a very comfortable, quiet stay of 5 nights.

Room Tip: It is worth getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts regarding you recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the air conditioner and fridge. We use this information to continually improve. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and time spent in the beautiful Black Hills. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and other activities in SD was just perfect for us. We had a suite and it was perfect for my family of four. Two tv's meant everyone could watch what they wanted! And free breakfast is always a good thing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that the central location of the hotel was beneficial to you on your vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed the suite that you stayed in and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel was generally clean and the location is near Mt. Rushmore National Monument and about 1.5-2 hours to the Badlands National Park by car. The restaurant attached to it had a satisfactory menu for two dinners with some senior discount. Only thing we wished they had a freezer compartment in their refrigerator so that we can use our "blue ice." Ice cubes tends to melt and messy in our cooler.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We value your feedback and use it to continually improve. We are looking into freezers for the rooms as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.