We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Great stay with a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a wonderful 7 night stay at this hotel! It's nice to have an indoor and outdoor pool for the different weather. They have a good breakfast that's included, a little different selection each day would be nice, but hey, it's free so not that big of a deal. David from the front desk went out of his way several times to help us -- he's a big asset to the hotel. Overall a very pleasant stay at a nice hotel that has a great location in the Black Hills. We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value your opinion and use it to continually improve. David is a wonderful employee and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed meeting him. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    119
    48
    8
    13
See reviews for
167
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent the night here while finally visiting Mount Rushmore. Perfect location. Close to downtown activities, yet not immediately in all the hustle and bustle. Quick 15 minute drive to Mount Rushmore. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was nice. Restaurant and gift shop on- site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a convenient location for your vacation in the Black Hills. We value your feedback and appreciate your business. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay. Cleanliness was top notch for hotels in this price range. In a very convenient location for all the major attractions like Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills National Forest. The breakfast in the morning contains a nice variety of hot and cold. Over the course or week long stay the oatmeal and fruit was always there as well as the standard cereal and muffins, toast, etc. Everything was laid out very well and the staff was constantly buzzing around keeping things typed off and cleaned up. Very good.

My only complaint (and is a pretty big one for me) is the noise that's audible between the rooms. It's very good for the rooms that are on your floor to the sides of you. But it is terrible for the room above you. During the last two nights of our stay it sounded like a small herd of Buffalo had escaped from Custer State Park and taken up residence directly above us. Not cool.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and value your thoughts. We are extremely sorry to hear that the room that you were in was noisy during your stay with us. We apologize for this inconvenience. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future and give us a chance to improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Best Western for our 20th Anniversary. She always wanted to go to SD to see Mt. Rushmore. We were located in the right spot in Hill City, train tour, shopping and dinning was all near. We saw many sites that we didn't know about and it made our trip fantastic. Site seeing all day can definately wear you out and the last thing you want to deal with is not having a comfortable sleep. The Best Western was comfortable and we loved the free hot breakfast. Thanks for making our stay a memorable one. William Ward.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Happy 20th Anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wonderful, very clean, nice big room, all staff very friendly and helpful even cleaning staff. Very good breakfast with plenty of seating. Had pizza delivered to room fast service and delicious .Swimming pool and hot tub very nice and relaxing. This hotel will be on my list to definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the room service pizza. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and many other attractions. It is surrounded by the beautiful Black Hills. The town is very nice. I recommend the Mangy Moose for good food and relaxed atmosphere. The 1880's train ride is nice.
All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious. There was a complete breakfast and a restaurant on the premesis for a nice dinner with an outdoor seating area. There is a nice garden area to sit and take in the surroundings. The pool and hot tub are in a separate building which was a little inconvenient due to the chilly night temperatures. There is also a nice outdoor pool. We would definitely stay there again. It is pet friendly so if you aren't a dog person this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and very quiet. We didn't hear the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. The Black Hills are a beautiful place to vacation, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. At the Best Western Golden Spike we strive to continually improve and your feedback helps us to do so. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Il, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hill City is centrally located to many of the attractions most people/families will want to see. The Best Western Golden Spike is clean and comfortable and has a pretty good breakfast buffet. Kids loved making thier own waffles. We ate breakfast thier all 5 days of our stay and yes, it does get a little old like anything might after so many days in a row, but for free it is a great value add. The hotel is short walk(10-15 minutes) from the downtown which has many other bar/restaurant options for food and drink as well as some shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Best Western Golden Spike. We strive to continually improve and your comments help us to do so. We are glad that your children enjoyed making waffles and you enjoyed the breakfast. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.