We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet, friendly place to stay! David at the front desk was very helpful! Would recommend to all friends and family heading to the Hills to stay at this Best Western! Central location for all sights!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    119
    48
    8
    13
See reviews for
167
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We are on a 3 week road trip and this Best Western has been the best place we have stayed. It is centrally located in the black hills and within walking distance to town. The rooms are clean, big, and very comfortable beds. We are traveling with our small dog and there is a nice grassy dog exercise area. There is also a nice deck off the breakfast room with tables and chairs so we could enjoy breakfast outdoors with our dog beside us. Speaking of the breakfast, they do an excellent job. They have either ham or sausage everyday, eggs, and either hash browns or biscuits and gravy along with all the cold breakfasts choices. The hotel staff is very friendly. There is a restaurant on site and also a small coffe shop that has ice cream. I wish I lived closer to visit this area more often and stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the amenities provided. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay here, but ate at the restaurant on the way through for dinner. The ham and cheese panini was very good and the beef noodle soup was good. The other members of the group liked their breakfast items.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the restaurant. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Black Hills is our favorite place for a vacation, and when in Hill City SD we always stay at the BW Golden Spike Inn & Suites. This property is located in the heart of the Black Hills, very close to Mount Rushmore and so many other attractions. The rooms are always clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is delicious! The kids/grandkids love the pool, it's a great place for families! A great value for the money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Golden Spike in Hill City, SD. We appreciate you sharing you thoughts and experiences regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

VERY comfortable beds, friendly staff, and delicious breakfast make this a "will return" location for me the next time I'm visiting Mt. Rushmore. Exterior looked like it had been built some 20-3p years prior, but almoat everything save for the walls has been remodeled. Rooms were clean and comfortable, updated appliances, fixtures and TV, and large pool made our stay very enjoyable. And did I mention the comfortable beds? :-) After a long day of driving or hiking it couldn't be more welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Golden Spike in Hill City, SD. We appreciate you sharing you thoughts and experiences regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place has to be fairly new because it is spotless. We rented the family suite which had a separate bedroom with a king bed and the main room which had two queen beds and a fold out couch. It had two closets, a dining table, a kitchenette two vanities (with sinks) and a full bathroom. I can't tell you how much we appreciated everyone having their own beds! We had a hot breakfast included with the room everyday. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I would definately stay again. Also you are within walking distance to a grocery store!

Only downfall, it's a Pepsi facility (but you can get a coke at the coffee bar outside the restaurant). Also there's no change machine in the laundry room.

I've not stayed in many BW but this one was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the surrounding area. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.