We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trout fishing in the Hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing
Save
You added Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing to your Saves list
24060 Highway 385, P.O. Box 441, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trout fishing in the Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay at Quails Crossing even though we had a major blizzard and lost electricity for several days.George was very accommodating and made sure we had flashlites and batteries. We had heat,hot water and a gas stove to cook with.The cabins were clean and in order,older but good for families,hunters and trout fisherman.Looking forward to going back next October minus the snow storm. Andy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    4
    3
    14
See reviews for
54
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife had never had an opportunity to 'Go West' so we planned extensively for our trip from IL to SD- 3 months of planning. Doing our best to maintain a middle-class status, we sought the best deal we found - available at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing right outside of Hill City, South Dakota, and it was centrally located to all the attractions and cities we were interested in!
Our host, George, shared with us information of the area - places to eat nearby, info on attractions, the history of Quail's Crossing and more. The office carried not only those items you may have forgotten or ran out of, but also a few 'freebies' to get you by, as well as movie rentals and souveniers. Upon our arrival the first evening, the first thing that George told us, even before getting payment, etc. was "cabin #2 is ready for you". I laughed a little because he must have seen that after our long drive it was our first interest. During our 10 day stay George was ever available offering a "Good Morning" or just a wave.
We found our cabin to be clean, well kept and right within our price range. At home, 2 weeks ago, we had bought a brand new Sealy mattress and box springs-its very comfortable- every night when I went to bed I slept great on our bed on vacation(oops never checked the tag but it had to be quality). There were vacationers in other cabins and in the motel, some as couples and some with children and not once were we bothered by a 'neighbor'. Speaking of 'neighbor' - the couples and families that were near to us spoke and it was not just a 'Hi' but we talked as in where are you going, what have you seen, how long are you staying - best descriptive word here Cordial, we had shared interests, a vacation, solitude but yet solidarity.
Our surroundings were comforting: Aces the horse loves attention and is gentle, he mows some grass and humors adults and children alike. There were firepits available - free firewood available for residents - surrounded by chairs, whether you wanted a night under the gracious stars or roasting hot dogs and making s'mores. A creek out back to pan for gold(George offers lessons) and access to the Michelson Trail. Swimming pool and hot tub too!
A few days before our trip to South Dakota, I obtained the age of 54, I have traveled from the southern tip of Florida to Chicago - from New York City down to Myrtle Beach SC to California(of which I lived for more than a year) and beyond to living in Hawaii and places in between I have camped and I have stayed at a Motel 6 and up to a Hyatt Hotel, I must admit that Black Hills at Quails Crossing was most like vacation home to me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were a group of 3 couples and stayed here for it's central location to the areas we wanted to visit. We stayed in the Motel Suite, which was clean and very comfortable. This is an older place and does not have the newest things but it is clean and has everything we needed to make it the hub of our trip. George was very accommodating and helpful. The group fire pit with wood supplied was enjoyabole, the hot tub was relaxing and it would have been great to do a little panning for gold but never seemed to have the time to fit it into our schedule. We walked on the trail which is so convenient right out the back gate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I love to plan vacations, especially when it is to somewhere my husband and I have never been. I'm glad I chose Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail''s Crossing for our home base while vacationing in South Dakota, Aug 18-28. I spent hours reading about all the available campgrounds in the area and their amenities and I kept coming back to Quail's Crossing. George is a great host and a "pretty good ol' guy" as we say in Texas; he likes to talk as do I, so we had a great time. One reason I stayed in these cabins is the CCC history; my dad was in the CCC in the 30's before WWII. Yes, the cabins are old but they are clean and functional; no bed bugs, no fleas, no crud in the sink. The cabins are really clean, the towels and bed sheets are of good quality and the campground peaceful. The stove worked as did the refrigerator (a real refrigerator and not an "ice box" as stated earlier) and there was plenty of hot water for washing dishes and bathing. The TV had great cable reception and it was a nice size TV. We were able to pick up the internet in our cabin (#1) which was a plus. Aces is a great horse and he loves apples and carrots which we fed to him everyday of our 10 day stay.The office at Quail's Crossing has a lot of minor items you might forget and it's very convenient to buy there. You might think the price would be higher than the stores in town but I was surprised to find the bar of soap I bought at Quail's Crossing was priced lower than in town. This is a great launching point for all the sites in the Black Hills and I highly recommend it. Yes, George has rules and they are posted in the cabins but they only make sense; clean up after yourself. If you don't want to clean up then let George know and your cleaning deposit covers the clean up. We cleaned the kitchen and took out the trash but I did not want to sweep, vacuum or mop so I didn't and I let George know. Remember Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing is George's business so respect him for that. Clean up as you go so it not overwhelming when you leave; no one is stopping you from running the vacuum every other day or so or even cleaning a bit everyday. If you expect the Ritz you came to the wrong place. If you expect to be catered to and pampered you came to the wrong place. If you want a great place to be able to see the Black Hllls, sit in a chair and watch the trees grow, feed a horse and enjoy the outdoors then Quail's Crossing is the place to be. We hope to return someday and Quail's Crossing will be our choice. Thanks, George!

Room Tip: The cabins are quiet, really quiet at night when you are sleeping. If you are used to city noise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We read the web-site for the description of the accomodations for Quail's Crossing and it sounded wonderful and we did not have an issue paying the $1600 for the week to stay here.... Unfortunetly, not much that we saw, was like the pictures on the website. The nice furniture in the pictures was not to be found in our cabin. The beds were uncomfortable and basically a lumpy mattress on a frame. The "full" kitchen area consisted of a 1950's refrigerator (complete with the icebox access inside the main refrigerator) and a stove of the same period.

The main living area consisted of a 1960's love seat with an uncomfortable pull out sleeper and a 1980's style TV. I have attached pictures of the kitchen sink (complete with filthy crud in corners) and a pic of livingroom sleeper sofa (the air mattress was ours that we bought so someone could actually sleep on it, and if you notice the bottom right hand corner of pic, you can see the TV).

To make matters worse, when we mentioned our displeasure to the owner, George Heywood; I got called a low life coward, a liar, and was told that I was complaining like an "old woman".

Please, do not put yourself through this, there are many cabins in the area that are much nicer and not as much drama!!!

Room Tip: Go 1/2 mile down road to another cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Unfortunately this customer has not told the whole story. No where in My Website advertising do
I claim my cabins to be all brand new, instead I clearly list them as older but clean. Check it out.
The crud he refers to on the sink is an older porcelain kitchen with chip & stains as porcelain does. What else this person is not telling is that the reservation was made by his no longer friend that had been here before and knew exactly what the cabin was like. Older but Clean as Advertised!!!! This person was here during rally and chose to have extra beds put in the cabin to
crowd in as many as possible, which meant single beds instead of the normal queen beds which are not as everyone know as comfortable, sorry but that is not my fault as it was their choice.
The real issue is he embarrassed himself here in front of his friends and for over 2 years has chose to slander myself and business over it. Check out the reviews of great customers and decide for yourself Thanks George owner operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading all the negative comments, I was concerned about staying at Quail's Crossing. To those of you that are feeling the same way, let me put your mind at ease. My wife and I stayed at Quail's Crossing from august 20 to the 24th with our 15 year old daughter and her 14 year old friend. When we pulled in the cabins looked dated but cozy. We met George and checked in, we stayed in cabin 6 across from the pool and play ground. When we walked in the cabin we noticed that it was very clean .It has a kitchen, fully supplied pots, pans, dishes Etc. with stove, refrigerator, table and chairs. Bathroom with shower. Living room with sofa sleeper and two bed rooms with queen beds. Although we didn’t get a chance to use the pool it was open and very clean. It comes with outdoor grill free charcoal provided picnic table and a place for a camp fire behind the cabins free wood provided. The girls did go and feed and pet Aces the horse.They now want one Thanks, George! The Michelson trail runs right behind the cabins where you can bike or walk, however bikes are provided free of charge. The kids did take advantage of the tetherball and play ground. During our stay George took 2hrs of his time to teach the girls how to pan for gold, they did find some flakes that they brought home. George was very helpful in places to go and things to do. Check out day we cleaned the cabin per the checkout rules. George passed it and we did get our cleaning deposit charge back on our card.
Now to address the negative comments:
We do not know George personally but anytime any of us talked to him which was quite often he was very friendly, never rude and took the time to stop and talk and answer questions.
There was no horse manure around the cabins or the play area!
Took my credit card info with 3 digit code, had no problem and returned our cleaning deposit!
There were no weeds around the cabins as the lawns were mowed. I walked down to the trail and at no time did I have to wade through weeds!
There is a fenced area on the back of the property that has some equipment stored but I don’t believe you could call it junk and it is enclosed!
Bedbugs and fleas; this was a big one for me and was the very first thing I checked before taking in our bags, nothing there. George keeps these cabins very clean, perhaps the people complaining about not getting their deposits back don't have the high cleaning standards that George and most of the rest us do.

Summary: If I would have listened to the negative comments (which I almost did), I wouldn’t have stayed here, what a shame. Give respect and you get it back. Follow the rules, they are not that strict, they just want all their guests to have a great stay! Clean up per the rules and you will get your cleaning deposit back!
Thanks George for the great stay and your time!
Randy Richards

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I and 2 teenage kids stayed here Aug. 20-24. It's a great place to stay and also a great location. The cabins are older but absolutely immaculate. They are spacious and quite homey. Love the full kitchens and the fact that everything you need is there. Unlike other places we checked into you don't have to pack your kitchen and bedroom to take on your vacation. Also,George took 2 hours out of his day to show the kids how to pan for gold on the property, that was awesome, the kids loved it. If we ever return to the black hills, I'll definitely call Quail's Crossing first. Thanks George, great place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing

Address: 24060 Highway 385, P.O. Box 441, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please go to our Official Business Web Site for Better Details, Rate Schedules & Discounts including Extended Stay Disc., OWNER INQUIRY FORM for an accurate response of availability & rates. Quailscrossing net or com Accommodations Available: 8 Cabins - 550 actual sq. Ft. W/2 private bedrooms, hide-a-bed in livingroom, full kitchen & dining area, bathroom w/shower. 1 Motel Suite - 1000 actual sq. Ft., W/3 private bedrooms, 3 hide-a-beds in living room & dining to seat 14, 2 bathrooms w/shower. Motel w/1 king bed or 1 queen & 1 double bed, kitchenette & full bath. All accommodations have lawn chairs, picnic table & charcoal grill (charcoal provided). Large in ground pool w/pavilion, hot tub, playground areas & more, 2 campfire areas w/free wood, Spring Creek w/free gold & garnet panning & Mickelson Trail access w/free bicycle use. 605 DW1 DA1P ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quails Crossing Hill City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.