We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycle Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill City Cafe

Hill City Cafe
309 Main St., Hill City, SD 57745
605 574-4582
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Rock Valley, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cycle Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The breakfast buffet was very good and worth the money. The buffet was well stocked and hot and the fresh fruit was a nice addition.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    42
    28
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner Crew Not Very Nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I'm giving this review for the dinner crew who were extremely rude especially our waitress which I can't remember her name but rude just the same. Morning staff were wonderful! Great breakfast. Too bad the night crew spoils this great place to dine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dinner Buffet: Great Selection, Quality & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

On Sunday evening, June 23rd, we had planned to eat at the Alpine Inn but discovered it was closed. We were VERY pleasantly surprised with what we discovered at the Hill City Cafe! They served the BEST food we had on our 20 day trip through SD, Wyoming, & Idaho!

This is not a fancy restaurant with romantic atmosphere. But other than that, It is VERY hard for us to believe some of the really nasty comments posted here. It almost seemed like some folks had a personal vendetta with these folks. Some complaints were dated several years ago, so apparently most everything is MUCH better now. Go see for yourself!

We were VERY impressed with their menu with lots of variety & intriguing specials at excellent prices. But we just could NOT pass up their Dinner Buffet at $9.99. It was ALL very fresh & tasty with LOTS of great dishes like: DEE-licious fall off the bone BBQ Pork Ribs; excellent spaghetti & meat pasta sauce with meatballs; tasty fried chicken; salisbury steak, corn on the cob, mac n cheese, loaded mashed potatoes, saurkraut and kielbasa, and MUCH more, The large salad bar was VERY fresh with lots of tasty selections. They had homemade soups, and a wide selection of homemade pies, but we were too full to try them.

On Sunday night, the cafe was pretty full but it was clean and the service was fine. Lots of folks were obviously enjoying their meals, too -- including large families.

Unless you have the need for a luxurious, romantic atmosphere, there is NO reason to pass up this cafe. Walk in and check out their buffet line and you will quickly be able to see the quality & selection! Locals told us that the Breakfast Buffet is grrreat, too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointing dinner experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went in for supper starving after a long day of driving. The thing that prompted us to eat there was the kid menu and a hot buffet. Everything on the buffet looked like it had been sitting awhile, (the salisbury steak had a film on top). The mashed potatoes tasted like the kind that comes in a box-pasty and heavy on with butter flavoring and dried chives. The kids said the mac.-n-cheese tasted like soap. Husband and I ordered the chicken fried steak "special". While the portion was large, the meat appeared to have been pan fried in old grease, breading was dark black but soggy. The best thing about the meal were the 2 cold beers that we drank while we waited.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Like German food? This is the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Pluses - good food, outstanding Desserts, good selection of German wines and beers. So-so - service was ok but nothing great. Minuses - long, long waits and no reservations for dinner unless you are 8 or more. Only two choices for dinner, a steak (which was only soso and spatezle). Go for breakfast or lunch but prepare to be there a along time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hill City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.