We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally great destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Guest Ranch

Save Saved
You added High Country Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Country Guest Ranch
12138 Ray Smith Drive, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
THORNTON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Totally great destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We love Brule, #1 Native American show in the world, and they now perform all summer at High Country Guest Ranch. Look up Brule to see and hear them. This ranch is in the Black Hills, a very short drive from Mt. Rushmore and the more impressive Crazy Horse and close to Rapid City and Custer. The staff at the Ranch is totally pleasant and professional. The western show and chuck wagon dinner are good and the site is restful and beautiful with comfortable places to stay, trial horse back riding and a quick complete $5 breakfast. And Brule at night in the Black Hills.......Heaven on earth at this great destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive cabins but good beds, two large bunk beds, bathroom, frig, microwav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

For this trip, my family of 6 stayed for 4 days/3 nights. (We plan vacations here every summer.)We loved every minute of it! The accomodations were clean, comfortable, and inviting. The setting is beautiful, complete with a horse round-up every morning and evening. There are a number of outdoor family activities on the property. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't want for anything! We highly recommend High Country Guest Ranch if you plan on experiencing the Black Hills!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Hagin, McDonald, and Saddleridge cabins. They're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My nephews and I stayed at the McGinnis Cabin. We had a wonderful time. Cabin was very comfortable and was very clean. Beautiful setting. The owners John and his wife Barb were very friendly and very helpful. My one nephew is in a wheel chair and they put a ramp up just special for him. All the staff is very friendly and kept wanting to know if we needed anything. I would highly recommend this ranch. We are already planning on return visit in a couple of years. Also Barb is a writer and her books are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oblong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights it was so nice clean and comfortable. The owners and the staff make you feel at home. The cabin we stayed in did not have a wheelchair ramp so Dane built one for it so we could get my brother in with no problem. When we come back to South Dakota we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are from Minnesota and when we registered the owners checked us in. They were really friendly and knowledgeable, The cabin was beautifully maintained. We could not have imagined staying anywhere else. It was close to everything that one would want to see in South Dakota. We are already planning our return trip. I cannot say enough how great it was staying there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A group of friends has been going to High Country Guest Ranch every year for a long weekend get together since 2007. We rent one of the vacation cabins and utilize their horse corrals, as we bring horses to for trail riding at Custer National Park, Deerfield Lake and Willow Creek. It is a great location with several trail riding locations within a close radius, shopping in Hill City, Custer and Rapid City, and a comfortable cabin for our time together to prepare meals and visit. The new owners are doing a fantastic job, where very accommodating for anything we needed and the upkeep on the property was top-notch. As we have done in the past, we have already reserved the cabin we prefer for dates in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at High Country Guest Ranch in a camping cabin - very nice even if beds were a little firm. We actually got to enjoy the concert with Brule' two nights as we could hear them from our cabin and the next night we we paid and got to see them up close and personal. They were the reason we were staying here. The folks in charge did have a tendency to finish their conversations with co workers prior to checking on the guests. All in all it was a pleasant experience and I am sure we will be back next year to hear Brule' again. Did purchase the book about Paul that the owner had written - great insight and have shared it with other Brule' fans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Guest Ranch

Address: 12138 Ray Smith Drive, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Guest Ranch offers a variety of lodging from a fully furnished vacation home to authentic log cabins and camper cabins. Our place will make you feel right at home while allowing you to experience the excitement of the outdoors. If you are looking to get closer to nature, we also have a number of tent and RV sites that include full hook-ups. And best of all - there is no nightly minimum when you stay! High Country Guest Ranch is a great place for your next family vacation or corporate event. We welcome groups of all sizes. Create memories that will last a lifetime, we've got something for everyone. All cabins are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Guest Ranch Hotel Hill City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.