We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in South Dakota, Dont bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added High Country Guest Ranch to your Saves list
High Country Guest Ranch
12138 Ray Smith Drive, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Savannah, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst place in South Dakota, Dont bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Our family is entirely from South Dakota and know the true kind hearted and loving people that come from this state. South Dakota is amazingly beautiful and worth the trip. We had our family reunion here and the entire staff were rude and acted as if they didnt even want our business (which from our family alone was several thousands of dollars). The prices are insane for the type of service we recieved here. I dont suggest anyone to bother coming here because no matter where you go in the hills its going to be beautiful, so unless you're looking to be rudely unwelcomed and over charged for not so great cabins and have religious pushing people in face the second something doesnt go the way they want your vacation to go then by all means waste your money and a true south dakota experience.
Also, we attempted to have my grandmother's 80th birthday party here in addition and certain members of their staff incuding their manager attempted to ruin it for our family throughout the night. When we asked to speak directly with the owners the manager refused to give us the information. But we plan on finding it for ourselves.
I think these people should choose another business because obviously they dont get along with the "hospitality" business!!

  • Liked — No amount of rudeness can defer from the beauty of the black hills
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

My sister and I took our kids on vacation to the Black Hills in June. This resort had a good location for visiting area attractions. The cabins were clean and well furnished. We stayed the first part of our trip in the Kozy Getaway and then one night in the McDonald Cabin. A creek ran behind the cabins and there were private campfire rings which the kids loved. We had a gas grill to cook on as well as a full kitchen. The staff even changed our towels daily.

The playground was okay. There were swings, a slide, volleyball, and tetherball. We took advantage of the pony rides for the little ones and they had a blast. If the weather had been nicer during our stay, we would have rented bikes and gone on the Mickelson trail which runs right past the cabins.

We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — You had lots of privacy.
  • Disliked — No phones in the cabin. You had to go to the office to call out.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed here on a 3 generation family trip. Everyone from the grandparents to the kids LOVED the cabin and the ranch! In fact, we didn't go to several tourist activities we had planned on in favor of just hanging out at the cabin. We loved the fire pit (marshmallows every night), the proximity of the horses, and the beautiful views. Next time we go (and we will go again), I would like to take advantage of the bike trails and hiking in the woods. The cabin was clean and comfortable and very nice. The staff was friendly, the area beautiful, and Hill City a good place to base your activities from.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

We've stayed at the ranch 9 times now so obviously we think very highly of it. It feels like home. The cabins/houses are wonderful--we've stayed in the smallest ones and also several of the big house ones. It is so quiet and peaceful and we love to wake up during the night to see different wildlife grazing around the house! The staff has always been the very best. In our opinion, you couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay!

  • Liked — The comfortable relaxed feeling of the place.
  • Disliked — In the off season, you are pretty much on your own as far as getting more towels and taking the garbage out.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Our family stayed here for 4 nights as the base for our Black Hills vacation. We originally were booked for 3 nights but loved it so much that we added another night! We found it on the internet originally and must say it was a million times better than we ever imagined!

We stayed in one of the cabins for 6 (2 adults and 4 teenagers). Wanted to stay in a larger cabin but they were booked. We found that the size was fine because when we were there we were hanging outside so much anyway. Since we have a larger family we are used to us all being in one room. We didn't think it was to crowded at all, just cozy. The price was very reasonable ($99 a night with an extra $40 per night if you needed bedding). Think it would have been more reasonable if they only charged you once for the bedding. That really is my only complaint.)

The surroundings were breathtaking! We really felt like we were away from it all. The cabins are all new and very clean. Very nice. The pool was kind of average but as long as it was cool on a hot day the kids didn't care. The group of cabins were right by the pool and next to the corral with Ruthie the Burro & 2 mules that gladly would come up and let you feed them anytime you like. We LOVED the "walk in" movie theatre. A movie plays every night at dusk. You sit on benches or you could lay on a blanket under the stars and watch the movie. If you are lucky one of the barncats might come up and join you.

A trail was nearby that you could walk or rent bikes from the front office. There were also a lot of movies to loan if the kids wanted to stay up late. Cowboy breakfast was served every morning. A great deal, good, home-cooked. Definitely can't beat the breakfast for a a quick, hearty breakfast to start you off on your day. Think it was only $2.99 for adults and $1.99 for kids, under 5 free! Can't beat that anywhere.

Of course the best time was the 2 hour trailride. The horses were gentle and sweet and our guide was great too. Definitely the highlight of our trip. Wish we would have taken a trail ride every day.

This would be a FANTASTIC place for a family reunion!! They have (6) 6 person cabins and also many others that are much larger. I imagine you would want to plan ahead because this is definitely a great place in a perfect, central location (just outside of Hill City) that is close to everything. We will definitely be back. Can honestly not say one bad thing about this place.

  • Liked — The entire setting, a real ranch feel
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
593 helpful votes 593 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

We would like to say what a beautiful cabin this was. Although we stayed in the offseason, and didn't get to use some of the features, such as the horses, trails,pool and country breakfast they offer,we still enjoyed our visit more than any other place we ever stayed. The cabin was beautifully decorated and had every amenity.We did take advantage of the campfire ring two nights, and just enjoyed the cabin as much as we could in our three night stay.If you don't mind the short drive up the hill from Hill City , and enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills,then this is the most beautiful place you will stay in the Black Hills area.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

Thanks to everyone associated witht he ranch. Especially to Kayla who put up with us on the trail ride.
The cabin was fabulous, the scenery breath taking, and the wild life is awesome.
All of it combined to make our 1st ever (But not last) Sister vacation a happy, relaxing and memorable experience.
All of us are glad we chose the Black Hills S. D. and High Country Guest Ranch to begin what we hope will begin a wonderful tradition.
Thanks again to everyone.

Kathy - Nebraska
Diane - Maryland
Karen - Maryland
Tina - Kentucky
Brenda - Maryland

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Guest Ranch

Address: 12138 Ray Smith Drive, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Guest Ranch offers a variety of lodging from a fully furnished vacation home to authentic log cabins and camper cabins. Our place will make you feel right at home while allowing you to experience the excitement of the outdoors. If you are looking to get closer to nature, we also have a number of tent and RV sites that include full hook-ups. And best of all - there is no nightly minimum when you stay! High Country Guest Ranch is a great place for your next family vacation or corporate event. We welcome groups of all sizes. Create memories that will last a lifetime, we've got something for everyone. All cabins are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Guest Ranch Hotel Hill City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.