We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as promised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Blues Village B&B

Save Saved
You added Coyote Blues Village B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coyote Blues Village B&B
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23165 Horseman's Ranch Road, PO Box 966, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Hill City
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not quite as promised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

One night as part of a 36 night trip across the US. Whilst the location was undoubtedly beautiful and the breakfast a typical European one ( nothing new to us) , we found that our experience fell short of expectations. Our booking promised a TV and wi- fi, we got neither. Both our room and shower were very small, and we didn't get a welcome - the owner seemed quite flustered when we arrived. However, it's proximity to Rushmore and quiet location will always make this a popular choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
STL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We love making our home base a B&B while on vacation. So, we have stayed at many here in America and Europe. We found this B&B to be at the top of our list beside our favorite place in Tuscany. We were greeted with a warm hug and felt like family during the entire stay.

Breakfast is served in courses so pace yourself accordingly. If the weather permits you sit outside at a huge table which encourages lively conversations about the previous day's adventure with fellow guests.
Although the owners are busy in the kitchen they will spend time with you with advice and suggestions to make each day run smoothly.
We stayed in the Mediterranean room with a private deck and hot tub for 3 of our 4 nights. The first night was in the Celtic room which is perfect for travelers on a tight budget, a bit smaller without the private deck.
Christine and Hans were charming and hospitable and we hated to say goodbye!
If you plan to spend some time in the Black Hills this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Peaceful, scenic, quiet setting in the Black Hills. Food was all fresh and homemade. Keep in mind this is a European style breakfast; fresh fruit, plain yoghurt, granola cereal, grainy bread, plus an egg dish. You will enjoy the food and you won't go hungry. I stayed for 3 nights and after the first night regretted not staying an entire week. My last night I went out to eat at a restaurant that Christine and Hans Peter (owners) recommended. I got there a bit late and all the tables were gone. Christine and Hans Peter were there as well having dinner. They saw that I was there and told the waitress that it was OK if I joined them. I told the waitress thanks, but no, I want to respect their privacy. They both pretty much insisted that I join them, I did, and we had a very nice time.

Room Tip: I was solo and stayed in one of the smallest rooms and it was quite comfortable. I didn't see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for 2 nights. The hosts were incredibly welcoming. The rooms were very clean. Breakfast was delicious. We had our teenage children with us and they had a wonderful room, as well. We would definitely book this b&b again! (We had the room with the hot tub. It was sooooo relaxing!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Though we were unable to stay at Coyote Blues as planned in August for 2 nights, we were treated exceptionally well by Christine, one of the owners. I called Coyote Blues shortly before our reservation date for 4 to explain that we had to cancel due to the unexpected death of my husband's mother. l was very stressed out and she was quite understanding. She told me she would give me a full refund, and I told her we hope to see her next summer on our annual Montana trek from Wisconsin. We really appreciate Christine's generosity and understanding and I felt it was appropriate to share story this with others.

Room Tip: We were directed to the best room for 4 people and 2 beds, yet not sure of the name.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For once, our GPS took us directly to Coyote Blues, which was very good since it is more than a little off the beaten track. But OH HOW WORTH IT! We arrive to find the the owners were gone to Switzerland to see their first grandchild. But we were greeted by Annie (I think, sorry I can't remember, but she was so sweet.) Later Flint, the neighbor/innkeeper came and helped with our luggage and helped us to settle in. We loved our rooms, the European/Antique suite with it's own patio and hot tub. Being two old ladies we don't take advantage of the tub, someone would have to come to help us out, but the patio and view was more than enough. I enjoyed being able to sleep with the patio door open and the fresh air filling my lungs all night.
We were fortunate to be able to stay here for 3 nights and enjoy Flint's fantastic breakfasts each of those mornings. WOW Can He COOK!!! We were able to take in all of the attractions in the area and then return to our home away from home each night. What a joy. We are already trying to decide when we want to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. The owners Christine & Hanspeter were very welcoming and have put a lot of thought into the amenities they provide their guests. We stayed in the European/Antique room. It was nicely decorated, very clean and the MOST comfortable bed and linens outside my own home. Our room had a hot tub on the patio and was wonderful as we spent each day riding our Harley Davidson and seeing all the beautiful sights.. The breakfast was yummy and such a nice treat to eat outdoors & enjoy the beautiful morning. We rode in on motorcycles and had no problems getting to the house down the long road.

If & when we return we will absolutely stay at Coyote Blue again.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs and was very secluded with only 2 other rooms on the floor. You could not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coyote Blues Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Blues Village B&B

Address: 23165 Horseman's Ranch Road, PO Box 966, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
#7 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Blues Village B&B 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coyote Blues Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyote Blues Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Blues Village B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.