We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn

Alpine Inn
133 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745
(605) 574-2749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprising meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We go to the area in our motorhome to see Mt. Rushmore. Someone told us about The Alpine Inn Dinner. They give you an awesome steak cooked to your liking a baked potato, and the best salad dressing I have ever eaten. The entire meal is about half what you would pay at any other restaurant. When you are in the area you have to try this. Well worth the short drive. They don't take reservations, and they don't take credit cards, cash only.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    170
    51
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were happy with our meal here but were disappointed in how long we had to wait and the quality of the service we received. This place is one of a handful of restaurants in town and is always incredibly packed. You need to arrive early (or wait until much later) and be prepared to be patient!

We approached the bar for a cocktail while we waited, but they only serve wine and beer. The menu is very limited, but the food was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just as good as the first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second time here and it did not disappoint! Wonderful waitress, delicious food and can't beat the price! Dessert was so good too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We finally made it to the Alpine Inn! We have friends that have recommended it for years. They drive up just for dessert!
We were having a wonderful weekend away in the Black Hills of SD as a late 25th Anniversary gift.So of course this was our opportunity to finally dine at the Alpine Inn. My husband tried the traditional German fare and I had. French dip and the soup of the day -Corn Potato Chowder. Yum! To top it off we had to indulge in dessert! I hade a scrumptious Pumpkin Cheesecake and my husband tried the apple caramel cheesecake. Delish! Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go Here for the Desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Eat here for authentic German cuisine for lunch or enjoy $9.95 filet mignon for dinner. Their hours vary from summer to fall, so before you drive there call and make sure they're open! NOTE: They are NOT open on Sundays and ONLY accept cash or checks (there is an ATM on site). I had my wedding rehearsal dinner here and even with a large group, they were able to produce great food and AWESOME desserts. We eat here as often as we can!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Inn also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.