We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to wait...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn

Alpine Inn
133 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745
(605) 574-2749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were happy with our meal here but were disappointed in how long we had to wait and the quality of the service we received. This place is one of a handful of restaurants in town and is always incredibly packed. You need to arrive early (or wait until much later) and be prepared to be patient!

We approached the bar for a cocktail while we waited, but they only serve wine and beer. The menu is very limited, but the food was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    209
    71
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just as good as the first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second time here and it did not disappoint! Wonderful waitress, delicious food and can't beat the price! Dessert was so good too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We finally made it to the Alpine Inn! We have friends that have recommended it for years. They drive up just for dessert!
We were having a wonderful weekend away in the Black Hills of SD as a late 25th Anniversary gift.So of course this was our opportunity to finally dine at the Alpine Inn. My husband tried the traditional German fare and I had. French dip and the soup of the day -Corn Potato Chowder. Yum! To top it off we had to indulge in dessert! I hade a scrumptious Pumpkin Cheesecake and my husband tried the apple caramel cheesecake. Delish! Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go Here for the Desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Eat here for authentic German cuisine for lunch or enjoy $9.95 filet mignon for dinner. Their hours vary from summer to fall, so before you drive there call and make sure they're open! NOTE: They are NOT open on Sundays and ONLY accept cash or checks (there is an ATM on site). I had my wedding rehearsal dinner here and even with a large group, they were able to produce great food and AWESOME desserts. We eat here as often as we can!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not sure what other reviewers are talking about, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Of course, there is going to be bad experiences when you go out to dinner, but I would just like to say a few words about my experience at Alpine.

I've lived in Custer/Hot Springs for most of my life and have eaten at the Alpine probably a dozen times. The place is always packed becasue it IS good food and usually decent service, AND they have a great dessert menu.

The meal is the same every time. Filet Mignon, salad with house dressing, baked potato, and bun. They've been doing it for decades now, and people still keep coming back.

For those of you looking for a great dinner at a low price, you can't go wrong with Alpine if you have some extra time to spare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Inn also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.