We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in the Black Hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn

Alpine Inn
133 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745
(605) 574-2749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
rapid city, sd
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Spot in the Black Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent lunch selections. Dinner is one selection but delicious consisting of steak, potatoes/veggies, salad and breads. Nice wine selection. Great deserts!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    185
    61
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leith, Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small steak or large steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I love this restaurant and make it a point to visit every time I'm in the Hills. Their dinner menu is very unassuming as you have the choice of a small (6 oz.) filet mignon or a large one (9 oz.). They have recently added a vegetarian option of Spaetzle Primavera, which my vegetarian cousin recommends. As the menu is so small, they really do get the steaks right.

The real reason to come, though, is the desserts. Anything on the dessert menu is worth trying and their bread pudding is a staple. Get there about 20 minutes before opening time in the evenings if you don't want to wait for a table as the dining room fills when it opens.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice lunch experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a very nice lunch here . I was a little taken back by the fact that they did not accept credit cards, but oh well. The sausage was good and the prices seem fare for the area and portion.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, AK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This small, charming restaurant has a very limited entree menu, but absolutely amazing desert selection. The filet dinner was perfectly prepared, and I am particular about steak. The scallop potatoes were some of the best I have had, and the lettuce salad was cold and crisp. The deserts were amazing ( and I am not a big desert fan). I had the Napoleon, and it was wonderful. In fact, we bought two more to take with us. This restaurant is worth a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice selection for lunch. Dinnertime they serve one thing, but lunch has a bigger variety. The food and the service is excellent! Don't miss it if you're visiting in Hill City at lunch time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Inn also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.