We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground

Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground
Hwy 385 & Sheridan Lake Rd, Hill City, SD 57745
605 574 2908
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 restaurants in Hill City
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is out of the way a bit but I felt worth it. We were looking for a steak and based on tripadvisor reviews we went here. We both had ribeyes which were cooked perfectly although I felt could use more seasoning. All of the food was served piping hot and quickly. Our server was attentive withour being overly obtrusive. We were going to have the prime rib but it is only served Thursday through Sunday. I will go back if we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    30
    20
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Montana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went here tonight based on previous reviews written on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased although we had a little trouble finding it as it is out of Hill City a ways. The Beer Cheese Soup was very good! And we both ordered the Prime Rib. It was cooked as ordered, very flavorful and tender.
Our only disappointment was that they serve Country Crock margarine for the bread and baked potato rather than real butter. The servers were friendly and attentive and even gave us information on sights to visit in the area. We were also pleasantly surprised when we received the check and it was much less than we expected. Truly a good value!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Nice Portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are locals, and had never been to Horse Creek, so decided to give it a try ... we actually went to purchase a gift certificate for a wedding present and figured we ought to actually try the food first. Beer cheese soup -- hands down the best ever. The antipasta plate was REALLY an anitpasta plate & the best we have EVER found outside of Italy. Had the Raspberry Chiptle Chicken with pasta and ended up taking half of it home. Wonderful, friendly staff and kudos to the new management for turning this business around! Great job!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“We were super impressed! Steaks we're yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

First GREAT food we found in the Black Hills so far! Steaks were tender and flavorful. Rice pilaf was good and the side carrots were delicious - nothing prepared from a frozen bag! They own a great boat rental down the street as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice cozy inn with a home feel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Good prime rib on the weekend. Friendly service. Great view and quiet eating. Nice place to take that special person.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground also viewed

 

Been to Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.