We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOYED OUR BREAKFAST!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hub Cap Diner

Hub Cap Diner
317 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745
605.574.3800
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ENJOYED OUR BREAKFAST!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We chose this diner for breakfast this morning and were totally satisfied. The prices were in line with what one would expect in a vacation location. Two in our party had biscuits and gravy. Yum. My choice was an omelet and it was generous in its ham and cheese. Service was good. We have only eaten breakfast there, so cannot speak to other mealtimes. Give it a try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We loved the inside décor, but that's about it. Just over $20 for chicken tenders w/fries and a grilled cheese w/fries. The grilled cheese had 3 different sliced cheeses. It came out looking like it never even made it to a grill pan and all 3 slices of cheese were not melted. When we pointed it out to the waitress she mentioned she noticed when she brought it out. Hmm, shouldn't it have been fixed then? After sending it back, literally a minute later it was back. It was bubbling hot! They'd microwaved it. Soft, soggy and nasty. The cashier apologized and said she'd tell the cook, but that was it. Wish we had just gone somewhere else!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice waiter, not for breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

After getting the news about no breakfast at the Crooked Creek Campground and RV Park, we headed into Hill City. Extended family said it was a good place for lunch or dinner, so we tried it for breakfast. Although the staff was great, when it came to the food, the toast was already cold, wife's eggs were cold, my hashbrowns were lukewarm, but the coffee was hot and plentiful. So suspect breakfast isn't the cook's talent for food but still would look to explore lunch or dinner at some future travel.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Terrific service! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Happy and helpful waitress. Classic diner menu with huge selection of burgers. Had the green chili burger...awesome. Had fresh hatch Chilis and jalapeños. Kid meals were good (they will sub salads for fries!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family stopped in to grab a bite to eat while on vacation. We were seated right away but after 20 minutes of waiting to be acknowledged we walked out. Several waitresses walked by us several times and didn't even make eye contact with us. It was 4:00 in the afternoon so it wasn't busy so there was no excuse for the lack of service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hub Cap Diner also viewed

 

Been to Hub Cap Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hub Cap Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.