We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tasting room and wines were very good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Faces Winery

Stone Faces Winery
12670 Robins Roost Rd, Hill City, SD 57745
(605) 574-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 things to do in Hill City
Attraction details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Nice tasting room and wines were very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stop here. Very nice building and the staff were very smiley, friendly and knowledgeable. Most of the wines are actually from back in Vermilion. We really liked the wines. They were surprising good. The labels and names were neat...most were linked to the area thru the Sturgis rally, Mt Rushmore etc. Was a fun break!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely wine shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Very engaging staff, free wine tasting. Explained about wines, nice variety. Loved the set up, relaxed and friendly, crackers and/or chocolate to clear the pallet between wines. Nice gift shop. Bought 4 bottles and some accessories.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived close to closing time but we never felt unwelcome. The staff was extremely knowledgable and the wine selection was plentiful with cute names like Rushmore Red & Tickle Me! The new gift shop has great snacks from all over the world (chocolate covered red licorice!) and a lot of cute little wine-themed items. We will definitely stop in again if we are in the area!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nothing too exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's just a quick stop where you pay about $5 (it may have been more than that, but it wasn't less) and get some wine samples. You buy your wine and leave. Nothing more. The wine was good, although I don't remember the name of it. I bought a sweet, white wine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not nearly as "foo foo" as Prairie Berry but very good wines and service. More like a weinprobe or weingut along the major german rivers. Nice counterpoint and definitely worth a stop - the wine tasting is free so what do you have to lose?

Definitely recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Faces Winery also viewed

 

Been to Stone Faces Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Faces Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.