We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

If you are visiting Hill City this is the place to stay, rooms are excellent and so are hotel amenities. Free parking and you can walk anywhere in Hill City in 5 to 10 minutes.
Bill and Cheryl on the reception desk could not have ben more friendly or helpful and breakfst was more than adequte and served with smiles and effciency by Dawn. The only criticism would be that the breakfast seating area could be bigger, but don't let that spoil an excellent experience.
Hill City has the 1880 railrod trip, and several restuarants and is of course well placed for visiting Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
113
77
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We spent 4 nights here on our 3 week road trip and the bed was definitely the most comfortable we slept in. Everything about the hotel was just right. The reception staff, the breakfast room staff and the room maids were all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is just a short walk from the town centre with plenty of free parking. There was free internet access in room which was great and the complimentary breakfast was above average.

We will definitely stay here again if ever we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We recently stayed here for 5 nights. Too long with kids. This is a short stay hotel and best for adults set on serious sight-seeing. I will admit, clean, friendly, location and quietness reviews are right on.

For you families, the double queens do not have a fridge or microwave. That's important with kids on a long stay. The pool opens from 10a to 10p. O.K. but small and very crowded at times. So be prepared with small kids. The breakfast is good, but only a couple items changed once in 5 days, No pancakes or french toast ever appeared while we were there. And don't get the suites that are above the check in desk. Laundry rooms and elevator cables will surprise you. And the eating area is small, thank heavens many families take their food to their rooms.
Short stay with a partner perfect. Long stay with a family with kids, Keep looking, but good luck.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiehillcity, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
We appreciate your comments and have some encouraging news, all the rooms have micro/refrig in them. IHG has release a variety of new breakfast items. It's very hard to determine when guest will come down for breakfast so like in many food areas sometimes we just have to wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I arrived early, having ridden in the rain up from Hot Springs, SD, about an hour away. I was soaked even with my rain gear on. The woman at the front desk put in a request to have our room made up as soon as possible which ended up being about 30 min. They were most helpful. The entry portal is where they let riders park their motorcycles out of the rain. Kudos to them.

The room was clean and well appointed. The cleaning staff were also friendly and helpful. What else can I say? I'd recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiehillcity, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
We appreciate your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippewa falls wi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Hotel was very clean and found everyone from the cleaning staff to the counter people very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our room was clean, large and quiet. The owners were wonderful, friendly and kind. The breakfast was tasty and there were many options. This is a great place to stay and you can not beat the location. There's plenty of free parking and you can walk to town in less than 10 minutes, 5 minute walk to the historic train station and less than 30 minute drive to pretty much all the sight-seeing spots. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights the beginning of May 2010. Weather was not cooperative. Snowed 3 inches and the wind was brutal at times. Our stay here was great. The staff was very, very courteous. They worked hard keeping the place clean and stocked. The front desk was very helpful. The pool and hot tub were well kept. The breakfast was consistent with other breakfasts at Holiday Inn Expresses. It included instant oatmeal, coffee, juice, cold cereal; hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy; as well as warm cinnamon buns. I may have left out a few items but it was all very well done. The only negative I can say was I paid for an upgrade to a king suite. I did this because there were three of us and I thought the king suite would give us more privacy because it was advertised as having a wall seperating the bedroom. I was disappointed because it was seperated by a ledge, not a wall at all. I highly recommend this place as it is very clean and the people strive to take care of you. Also, the price for our room was very competitive with other places.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hill City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.