We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not set up for bicyclists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Not set up for bicyclists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We choose the Holiday Inn Express because it was close to the Mickelson trail and it was. We were surprised then to have them suggest that we should store our bicycles in our room. We truly thought they might have a storage room because of their proximity to the trail. Rooms were large but we could hear noises from the adjoining room late at night and early in the morning. With lots of choice in Hill City we would probably try another hotel next time

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    79
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
111
73
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Standard Holiday Inn Express. No real complaints other than the price, but it is a tourist area. Nice pool, breakfast was plentiful, staff was friendly, great location. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

For a Holiday Inn Express I was a little disappointed. Check in was slow as six families showed up at one time. Appeared one of staff was being trained but got through it without issue. Our room needed a good carpet cleaning. Workout room wasn't much of a workout room and seemed like an after thought. After being in the car for awhile I was looking forward to a workout. Pool and hot tub area were nice and relaxing. Beds were comfortable and pillows adequate. Breakfast selection was excellent and staff kept it well stocked. Would consider staying here again if price was more in line with what they have to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Jody F,

Thank you for writing a detailed review regarding your recent stay. We are very pleased to read that you had a satisfying breakfast experience and found the beds comfortable. While it is nice to know that you liked the pool and hot tub area, it is regrettable that the fitness center was a let down. We apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced.

As for the cleanliness of the carpet, we take complaints such as yours very seriously and this will be addressed with our staff. We would definitely like for you to come back and give us another try.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is about a half hour from Mt. Rushmore and it was really, really nice. It's also about twenty minutes from Bear Country U.S.A., which is a fantastic drive-thru zoo! There is free hot breakfast in the morning and they had a great selection to choose from. The room was clean and spacious enough for my mom, two kids, and myself. The customer service was really good.

My only complaint with this hotel is the indoor pool area. The set up is great. The floor is slip-proof and drains wonderfully. But the pool and hot tub were not the cleanest. When we turned on the jets for the hot tub, yellow foam was floating around, which is really gross. My kids and I also developed a rash from being in the hot tub, which makes me question how often they clean it.

But other than that, this was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is centrally located to all the major attractions of the Mt. Rushmore area. It is set back from the roadway on a small hill so there is no noise of vehicle traffic. Hill City is a nice little town and the hotel is easy walking distance.The hotel is very quite, clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub are very nice. The breakfast served is a cut above the average. My grandson and I truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was great. The value is very good. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Rooms are the quieter on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here 6 years ago and, when planning our second Black Hills visit, had to stay here again. I'm pleased to say it was just as great the second time. This hotel is in the perfect location: close to Mt. Rushmore, close to Custer park, and within walking distance to many restaurants. It's also very clean and the staff is friendly. This is the only place we'll stay in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place was so nice! The room was clean & the bed & pillows were comfy. Those are always my main concerns so if those are met I'm good. A bonus was the breakfast & the staff. The lady at the front desk at check in was very nice, not stuffy at all. Not all HIE breakfasts are the same & this one was delicious. There was a woman going around to different tables asking people about their stay, giving them ideas on things to do & even directions to get there. She was just being so friendly & helpful & that's not something you get everyday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hill City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.