We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Rosenberg, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 4 days. Excellent hotel, clean, the staff very friendly, easy access to the surrounding sites, the restaurants in town excellent . Shopping was great. Take the back roads worth the exploration. Loved loved loved the stay the best places our whole trip thru the states from Texas to South Dakota.

Room Tip: Call early they fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    81
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
112
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Very clean, beds were extremely comfortable (and I really prefer just my own bed), but room seemed smaller than normal-maybe it wasn't but felt like it was. Breakfast was okay. Room is small, filled up quickly in the morning and had to eat in our room one morning. Staff did try to accommodate by having TV trays for guests to use in the lobby area. Not much to do in town. Many restaurants closed early when we were there. Had to order a pizza from the gas station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

cut in alongside a hill, but the property is well kept and appears to be rather new. Check in went smoothly, requested in reservation and received a first floor room near fitness center. Saw the steam train come into town twice. Very cool w/ whistle blowing. No service after 8pm, so no noise at night. If going to Mt. Rushmore, I recommend this property or at least staying in Hill City. Upon departure, if you are headed west on I-90, take RT16 threw Newcastle and Moorcroft to I-90. Awesome drive thru Black Hills Nat'l Forest and mountains. 10-15miles of road was being worked on and it was gravel but the Camry did great on it and well worth the slower drive, but you are not backtracking to Rapid City also.

Room Tip: Eat at Alpine Inn, approx half mile away. Dinner is either a small filet or large filet, but the des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If considering using rewards points do your homework.. They had an advertised price of $89 a night... When I called to inquire into a rewards night they wanted 30K points or 20K points and $70... I just paid the $89 and earned additional points on the stay.

The room (119) was clean and the bed was comfortable.

As someone else posted the breakfast area is small and gets packed

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a great hotel for families. The staff was very helpful (especially Brenda!) Made us feel at home. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy. We stayed in the 2 room suite which fit our family of 5 perfect. The breakfast was so convenient and plenty of things to choose from. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the HIE in Hill City for two nights while sightseeing in the Black Hills. This was a good location which allowed us to see the sights. Our king suite was spacious, clean and met our every need. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Couldn't ask for anything better in our visit to the Black Hills. The hotel was clean, modern and centrally located to everything. Service and personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Upon our arrival we were greeted and immediately checked into our room. We also upgraded to a King Suite which was a good move. Since we were there for four nights I thought it was best to have a room with some space. Glad I did. Housekeeping did an excellent job in having our room cleaned and ready on time each day. Amazing that the hotel was filled each day and that we hardly heard anyone else. Great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but For the small increase in price, I would definitely upgrade to a King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hill City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.