We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mountain View Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
12654 S. Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the. Mountain View Lodge for 5 nights. It was a great value and a good location to tour the Black Hills. We enjoyed the free breakfast (cereal, toast, bananas, and coffee) and had a fire in the fire pit at night. (Wood was $2.50 a bundle and burned nicely). The staff was very friendly and attended to our every need. The deck in front of the lodge was a nice place to relax after a day of sight seeing. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place is awesome! We were welcomed immediately by the owners with a warm smile and friendly atmosphere. They keep this place extremely clean. The rooms were nicely appointed with rustic charm and have everything you need for a getaway in the beautiful Black Hills. This location is perfect with it's location right off Hwy 16. You are literally minutes from Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. It's also easy access to Hwy 385 which allows a beautiful scenic drive past Lake Pactola and Lead/Deadwood area. Moutain View Lodge was a great getaway. The deck is wonderful with a grill which allowed us to grill our own meals at night and considering the hosts and owners are ever present (if you need them) the place feels like a family gathering! The pool was great for the kids..it's HEATED!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wasn't really blown away. This place just misses all the little details that make a place great to stay. Pay for firewood? You couldn't just throw a few logs in the fire pit considering the cost of the cabin rental? Pool was really small but the kids had fun. Until someone showed up from a local daycare with three kids. Apparently she knows the owner or something?

The inside of the cabins were just ok. A lot of little things were broken. Again nothing major this place just lacks the details. The grill was not cleaned before our visit and it was pretty gross. The owners were very indifferent also. Never saying hello or thank you or asking us how everything is. I would just expect more for the cost. Maybe saying good morning? The breakfast again was just ok. Store bought donuts and cereal. Again just ok. I really expected some more of a personal touch at this place. Was it ok? Yup. Would I look for somewhere else next time? Yup. If you don't mind the little details then you will probably be happy with this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMVL, Owner at Mountain View Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are a small family owned and operated lodging business and we take great pride in our excellent customer service and exceptional cleanliness. We take all customer comments very seriously. As the owners and managers of Mountain View Lodge & Cabins, we make every effort possible to make each customer's stay as good as possible. We would like to clarify each of the customer comments in the following paragraph.
• Firewood: The firewood bundles are generous in size and a very good value at $2.50 per bundle. Our customers are also welcome to collect firewood from the property for free.
• Pool: Our pool is 12' wide by 26' long. It has steps on one end (3.5' deep) and tapers down to 5' deep. The outdoor heated swimming pool is used and enjoyed by many families (adults and children) each season. The pool is for guest use only (no daycares use the pool).
• Things broken inside cabin: We do a thorough inspection of the cabin, and a complete cleaning each time a guest checks out/in. We take great pride in our property and do not leave things broken.
• Grill: The grill and patio table are cleaned each time a guest checks out/in. There is also a wire brush at each grill (used to clean after each use).
• Owners indifferent: As a family owned operation, we take great pride in customer service. We thoroughly enjoy visiting with our guests and sincerely appreciate them. During breakfast hours, the lobby is usually full of conversation between us and our guests. Additionally, our guests are personally thanked at check out.
• Breakfast: Each morning we serve a free breakfast which consists of 3 types of cold cereal, oatmeal, toast, orange juice, coffee, donuts, and bananas. We purchase the best available bananas from the local markets. We find that most people really appreciate the free breakfast.
• Pricing: We offer exceptionally clean, comfortable lodging at a very fair price. We take great pride in our property and are continually updating and improving it to enhance the experience of our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to read our responses/clarifications. If you have any questions you may contact us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

You can tell that the owners of the lodge take great pride in their property! I stayed in lodge room #7 for four nights. The room was spotless. The bathroom was cleaner than the one in my own house. The double beds were exceedingly comfortable and the shower was great. Even though the lodge faces a major road, my mom and I never heard any noise from the road or other guests and we are both light sleepers. We enjoyed sitting on the enormous deck and chatting with other guests. Every staff member we met went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend the lodge!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were completely satisfied with our stay at Mountain View Lodge. The room was very clean, and the owners are very friendly! The location is perfect for visits to all the attractions, and the best kept secret is the little ice cream shop across the street, excellent food, and even a better price! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice couple who runs this facility. Everything was always so nice and clean. LOVED the deck side seating and grills available to us. Even got to see some Billy Goats one morning. What a lovely area, loved it!

Room Tip: So glad we had a room off of the deck, made evenings when kids were down so nice to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great location, rooms are cute and very clean. Beautiful mountain views. On a busy road but we never heard traffic while in our room. Having the grills was a great alternative to eating out all the time. Breakfast was toast, oatmeal, fruit, cereals, coffee and juice. We have 4 kids and our room size and layout was perfect. Pool temp was warm enough for the kids to use even though it was freezing while we were here. We will definitely be back here! Make sure if you stay try the malts at the ice cream shop across the road! They are awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge & Cabins

Address: 12654 S. Highway 16, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hill City
#2 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Black Hills vacation at our lodge and cabins within minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and several area attractions, ride on the Mickelson trail or kick back at Sheridan lake 2 miles away, then save money, cookout on our covered deck, and enjoy the scenic hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Mountain View Lodge And Cabins
Mountain View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.