We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 Hill City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore

Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore to your Saves list
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore
109 Main St, Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super 8 Hill City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

There are no Refrigerators or Microwaves in the rooms. Not the best of places to stay but will remember that the hotel is only as good as the employees. Was not in anyway worth the rates that we were charged. Will find a different place to stay if we go back. Maybe the owners need to decide weather they want a hotel or a dump

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, Owner at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your response. Sorry our facility does not have fridges and microwaves, however the staff always assists when possible to meet your needs. Our rates are seasonal and lower than any other chain in the immediate area. Sorry you did not enjoy our hotel, but we're updating all the time. Thank you again for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    42
    19
    13
See reviews for
60
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband called the motel directly and booked a king room that was supposed to have a microwave and fridge. We got there and we had to wait for someone to show up at the desk. Needless to say they had us down for two doubles, no fridge or microwave. The cable had a lot of static and even at max volume, you could barely hear it. Outdated and terrible parking. Weak continental breakfast. Would not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for your response. For the record, we do not advertise fridges or microwave in rooms. A simple inquiry of our staff would have brought this out. Super 8 standard breakfast is served according to the guidelines set. Sorry you found it disappointing. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I did not have a lot of time to research hotels in the area before our trip and one cannot be too fussy when traveling on a budget. But seriously, we would have been better off sleeping in the car. The room we were given (116) is next to the ice machine and the breakfast dining room. It was July 3, so there were a ton of people up late drinking. Every time someone went to get ice, it was like a glacier was crashing in our room. Then, 6:00 AM hit and we might as well have been sleeping in the dining room. I heard every detail of every conversation. It was horrible. The bedding is of poor quality and very itchy and uncomfortable. The room and hotel are old and not updated, but that would have been OK if it was not for the lack of soundproofing. If you are thinking of going to Mt. Rushmore and this is the only hotel left in the area, just spend $30 on a tent and save yourself the cost and frustration.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower level and/or near the ice machine. Also, you may want to consider ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you nfor your response. I apologize for any inconvenience your stay with us may have caused. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have found this hotel after researching for a hotel 4 hours after my arrival at Rapid City Airport in a delayed inbound flight. I looked everywhere for a hotel in Rapid City and surroundings and couldn't find anything (not even cheap motels) on the last minute. So I highly recommend to book rooms way ahead of time if you want to visit Mount Rushmore and surroundings. This hotel is located 2/3 of the way between Rapid City Airport and Mount Rushmore. The hotel is fairly clean, outdated, noisy (due to the guests with pets) and in a location by the road with easy access to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Sorry about the noisy pets, and thank you for realizing the convenience of our hotel. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankota, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Hill City. It is a bit outdated, but the rooms are clean and the bed was the most comfortable that Ive ever slept in. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. We had the King smoking room and it was very spacious and comfortable. I would recommend staying here if visiting Hill City. Its close to a great restaurant as well as Main Street. It was a very pleasant stay! Would def come back and stay there again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We do everything in our power to make your stay here comfortable, and is good to hear when the staff is doing what is expected of them. We weclome you back to the area anytime it is convenient. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oacoma, South Dakota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This Super 8 is an older hotel. The rooms are average, noise level was on the load side. The room above us had the TV so loud I had to contact the front desk. They resolved the problem within 20 minutes, but they were just a noisy group. Breakfast was weak. Just the cold basics in a very small cramped room in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your response. Yes we are an older hotel, and we do upgrades all the time. Space restrictions do hinder us quite a bit, a sorry about the noisy guest near you. Thanks again for your response. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore

Address: 109 Main St, Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore Hotel Hill City
Super Eight Hill City
Hill City Super Eight
Hill City Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;