We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel 20 minutes away from Mount Rushmore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore to your Saves list
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore
109 Main St, Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel 20 minutes away from Mount Rushmore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have found this hotel after researching for a hotel 4 hours after my arrival at Rapid City Airport in a delayed inbound flight. I looked everywhere for a hotel in Rapid City and surroundings and couldn't find anything (not even cheap motels) on the last minute. So I highly recommend to book rooms way ahead of time if you want to visit Mount Rushmore and surroundings. This hotel is located 2/3 of the way between Rapid City Airport and Mount Rushmore. The hotel is fairly clean, outdated, noisy (due to the guests with pets) and in a location by the road with easy access to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Sorry about the noisy pets, and thank you for realizing the convenience of our hotel. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
59
40
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mankota, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Hill City. It is a bit outdated, but the rooms are clean and the bed was the most comfortable that Ive ever slept in. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. We had the King smoking room and it was very spacious and comfortable. I would recommend staying here if visiting Hill City. Its close to a great restaurant as well as Main Street. It was a very pleasant stay! Would def come back and stay there again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We do everything in our power to make your stay here comfortable, and is good to hear when the staff is doing what is expected of them. We weclome you back to the area anytime it is convenient. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oacoma, South Dakota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This Super 8 is an older hotel. The rooms are average, noise level was on the load side. The room above us had the TV so loud I had to contact the front desk. They resolved the problem within 20 minutes, but they were just a noisy group. Breakfast was weak. Just the cold basics in a very small cramped room in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your response. Yes we are an older hotel, and we do upgrades all the time. Space restrictions do hinder us quite a bit, a sorry about the noisy guest near you. Thanks again for your response. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Super 8 in Hill City, SD is out dated and over priced. I requested an upper floor room but was placed in the basement. The hotel was not full. Better places were 30% lower priced. The breakfast was poor, not fruit, coffee, cold ceral, toast, juice. Only booked this hotel because we thought Hill City would be busy Memorial Day weekend, it wasn't. You can do better than this hotel for less money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your response. I hope you brought your concerns to our staff, who are more than capable of figuring out how to make your stay more enjoyable. I believe for the area and time of year, the price fits the room because we haven't gone up much over the past few years. Sherryl A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore

Address: 109 Main St, Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore Hotel Hill City
Super Eight Hill City
Hill City Super Eight
Hill City Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.