We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! The cowboy beans are fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show

Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show
12138 Ray Smith, Hill City, SD 57745
1-800-403-7358 or 605-574-2129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Activities in Hill City
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it! The cowboy beans are fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a fun night. We loved the horses/hayride. The entertainment was cute and the food...THE FOOD...was amazing. We had steak (kids could have hot dogs), Cowboy Beans, fried potatoes, iced tea and dessert. It was great and we would definitely do it again. The evening was cut a little short because of rain showers heading in. But, it was totally fine!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    48
    22
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This might be a fun thing to do if you've never been on a farm/ranch, but it was lame-o for us. This is for small kids or city slickers perhaps. There was NOTHING for our kids (ages 9-16) to do. They found a playground on the property with a tether ball pole and some horse shoes and they spent their pre-dinner time there while the adults sat on the porch in the shade and wandered in the overpriced gift shop while waiting an agonizingly long time for dinner to start. The other children's activities were panning for mud in two stock tanks...woo. Shooting wax bullets...woo--for an extra fee. You could get a free wood carving lesson--IF you bought a wood carving kit... There were some fabricated cow heads with horns that you could try to lasso...yeah. And a pony you could get a ride on...if you were under 50 pounds perhaps--for a fee. There was also a lame skit with the "Biscuit Bandit" running around...our kids were not impressed AT ALL. The food was OK, but I would have expected more for $25 a pop for anyone over 12 and $21 for the younger kids (I think under 2 ate free). The dinner show was OK--nothing to write home about. We got there at 4:30 and suffered through an hour of extreme boredom until dinner was served. We left during the show, about 30 minutes after finishing our meal. I would NOT recommend this to my friends...even those with small kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Saw the show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Show was pretty good but I felt the food was only average. We did the same show in Colorado, which I believe is the origional one....it's a franchise, and thought it was better both food and talent wise. I would consider this one to be just ok.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful chuckwagon meal of beef/buffalo/chicken, baked beans, baked potato, biscuit, applesauce & spice cake, lemonade too! Highly recommend the buffalo if you have never had it, lean & peppery :) The country family show was good too, lots of oldies but goodies for music! Great time had by all in our group.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good time was had by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good food, fun show. Added the horse back riding. The staff was all very friendly. The man running the carving station was legendary.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show also viewed

 

Been to Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon Supper & Western Music Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.