We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast - will try the dinner next time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slate Creek Grille

Slate Creek Grille
158 Museum Dr, Corner of Main and Deerfield Road, Hill City, SD 57745
605-574-9422
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Hill City
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great breakfast - will try the dinner next time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped for a late breakfast and were not disappointed. It was a weekday morning and the place was not busy at all. We had great service, fresh coffee (our server left the thermal carafe, always a good sign) and plenty of good food. My omelet was one of the best I've had. My husband had chicken fried steak. We both had pancakes on the side. Really good and fresh. Our schedule didn't allow us to return to the restaurant for dinner, but we look forward to stopping at Slate Creek Grill next time we're in town, now that we have found a place we really like with a menu that appeals to us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    61
    50
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quick Service and Lots of Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Being vegetarian makes it tough to eat out...SCC has and excellent variety of choices that include vegetarian fare.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The 4 of us all had the best breakfast of our ten day trip at Slate Creek. The service was a little slow, but We would return!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We arrived at NFR (accommodations up the hill fm grill) early evening and made it to the grill maybe 1/2 hour 45 mins before grill closed. Had to wait 15 minutes to be seated at which point we were seated in the bar area which had had open seats all along.
They had maybe 3 waitresses to accommodate, probably 1 in the kitchen. I get that it was a weekday but still it is a tourist type town and it's almost summer. Food was average, wait was long.
Wish it could have been better for such a great locale.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The wait staff accommodated our large family gathering and was very friendly. The menu options are great, the kids had what they wanted, and the big kids had the prime rib, which was awesome!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate Creek Grille also viewed

 

Been to Slate Creek Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slate Creek Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.