We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Campground can't wait to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse Thief Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horse Thief Campground
Save
You added Horse Thief Campground to your Saves list
Hill City, SD   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Campground can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were so thrilled that we chose Horse Thief Campground for our vacation in the Black Hills. The cabin that we stayed in was perfect for our family of five. We found everything about the campground, to be to our satisfaction.

The Cabins were updated and very clean, the Bath house was one of the cleanest bath house we have ever seen, and the location was perfect, with a peaceful and quite campground, with a beautiful forest setting, and best of all no road noise.

We found the location to be very centrally located to all of the area attractions with Mt. Rushmore being 12 miles away, Crazy Horse 10 Miles and Sylvan Lake within 3 miles from the campground.

We found all of the staff and the owners to be very friendly and helpful, and they never thought twice about going above and beyond to help make our stay enjoyable.

We cant wait to tell all of our friends about our stay, and look forward to many trips back to the Black Hills and Horse Thief Campground

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    28
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
67
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Salem, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We recently spent 5 days at the Horsethief Campground, even though there was confusion on the check in date and our original site was given away, the owners found us another site. The family that own this campground are friendly and pleasant. The campground itself is located very close to many attractions and made driving to them quite convenient. This is a smaller family owned and operated campground, you won't have all the amenities as a KOA but that isn't what we wanted anyway. Quiet, hilly (some sites are not level, but you can deal) woods all around, and they will even deliver your ice to your site! Not as close to the next site as in some campgrounds in the area. After a long day of site seeing the owner suggested pizza delivery for supper, from Hill City! Fabulous Pizza! If you need a fine steak dinner check out the Alpine Inn in Hill City, be there by 4:30pm or be prepared to wait, only one thing on menu, but great meal at a very affordable price!Wow now that is camping at it's best!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed a Horsethief Campground for 5 days in July. We enjoyed it very much. Paul and Julie were wonderful and had or would get information about other attractions. The campground was very quiet. We liked that we were not far from many attractions. I will recomend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in this campground at the beginning of July. We ended up leaving early for a few reasons. We were in a site that was in the middle row which was difficult to get into and so close to the next site. The sites are so close not just side by side but forward and backward that when we left we had to literally back the trailer down the road to get out. It was supposed to be a drive through but this was not possible. The owner had to direct people out backwards. The sites were very uneven and were swampy. It rained and hailed while we were there and the mud just washed down the hills into the campsites which made them muddy so you could not sit outside.

There was only one bathhouse for a huge campsite so was dirty much of the time, mostly from the mud being tracked in. It looks like they are trying to build some new sites but I would like to see them fix the ones they have first and then add on.

Having said this though, the tent campsite was beautiful. A big grassy area away from the trailers. It looked like they had some portapotties there for their use.

The whole campsite looks like it is need of some loving care and that they are working on this but for now it was not top knotch for sure. Also it was important for us to be able to keep in touch with our family back home and the internet was not working many times and was VERY slow.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over Independence Day weekend. We were "car camping" meaning we brought a tent. The cabins looked nice, and the rows and rows of RV/trailer parking looked fine if you're into that sort of thing. But what really appealed to us was that they have separate tent areas of the campground. That meant we got to stay far away from the hustle and bustle (and foul smells of RV sewage).

The showers had plenty of hot water even though the campground was totally full (another reviewer said they ran out of hot water, so I'm guessing the facilities have been upgraded since then). The little store was convenient and had everything we needed, though unfortunately they did sell us some spoiled milk (they gave us a refund and another good jug free).

Best of all, though the posted "quiet hours" were 10pm, the place was quiet enough earlier than that to go to bed early if we liked. And even though it was July 4, there were no junior pyromaniacs running around shooting off fireworks. It was truly peaceful. A nice place to use as a base for visiting Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Mountain, and then kick back and read a good book.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My family and I have just returned from an amazing trip to South Dakota where we stayed at Horse Thief Campground. I must admit that I am not really a camper, but this place was FANTASTIC! The cabins were clean, updated, and just enough room for our family of four. Each campsite was spacious and equipped with a firering and picnic table. The bathhouse was the cleanest I've seen at any campground! The owners were so kind, helpful, and we found that they have gone the extra mile to make sure their guests have access to many ammenities. I highly recommend this campground for both the seasoned camper as well as the novice. It will not disappoint! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for our first-ever Black Hills camping experience and what a beautiful campground it is! Unlike many other campgrounds we looked at that sit along busy highways and/or have no trees, Horse Thief is situated along a quiet highway and the campsites are located far away from the road, nestled amongst the trees. You really feel like you've been plopped in the middle of the Black Hills Forest, which is exactly what we wanted.

We stayed in Camping Cabin E and were very pleased. It was close to the playground and swimming pool and just a short walk to the bath house, yet we still felt like we were very much nestled in the pines and had enough space to call our own. We especially enjoyed the little porch and swing on the front of our cabin as well as the nightly campfires beside our cabin.

This campground is quite large and our kids loved to climb the rocks and go exploring. It was very quiet at night and very well monitored by the managers. The bathrooms were clean and had plenty of showers/stalls for everyone. The office and "store" had plenty of supplies as well and we were able to find everything we needed there.

One word of caution: They heat the outdoor pool with an outdoor wood stove that produces quite a bit of smoke. I love the smell of wood smoke, but it started to bother me after awhile because that's all I could smell all day, every day - even in the middle of the night. Maybe it was because our cabin was just down the road from the wood stove & maybe the smoke just hangs in that area, but I would advise anyone with sensitivities to wood smoke to request a spot a good ways away from the stove.

We would definitely recommend this campground to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing Black Hills camping experience. The campground is superbly maintained & managed, the surroundings are breathtaking, and yet it's only a few minutes from a good range of Black Hills attractions. We've already decided we will be returning many times in the years to come!

Room Tip: Cabin E next is to playground & swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horse Thief Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground

Address: Hill City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse Thief Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.