We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Palmer Gulch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Palmer Gulch
12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
LIncoln, NE
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Family friendly lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Palmer Gulch. We stayed in executive Lodge 30. We had 8 people, 4 kids, 4 adults. The highlight was our own hot tub on the very large deck. The amenities at the whole park were very family friendly. We had a few housekeeping problems but the office had maintenance men to us right away. They could use a new door mat at this cabin as it was a mess to walk on. However we did not bring that to their attention and I'm sure would have taken care of it had we asked. Wood was delivered to us for the fire pit and overall we would stay again. Now for my main warning it you do stay here. There is virtually no cellular service and the hot spots the advertisement for Wifi is unreliable as well. Even though going on vacation is good to get away, many still need to keep in contact with family members and work. Had we known this before we checked in, we could have made arrangements. I feel their website should reflect this better. But I still give them a very good rating for the overall camp. The location was perfect for visiting many Black Hills beautiful sights. Our grandchildren loved this place.

Room Tip: We loved the Executive Lodge with its own outside Hot Tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    26
    17
    9
See reviews for
76
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge the first week of July 2014. For the price, the room was very disappointing. Looked old and dirty, water has a brown color to it, mattresses thin and uncomfortable, carpet is matted down and room is small for a family of four. Staff is polite and nice. Stayed in a standard room on the second floor. There must be a problem with their cooling system as it is extremely hot in the hallway on that floor. The bottom of the tub was also stained brown from the water problem. The outdoor activities are nice for kids and the scenery is beautiful. I would recommend camping here but expect to have close neighbors as the sites are small and crowded. Paid $140.00/night plus if you want a tiny fridge it is an extra $25 per week. Breakfast consisted of only bagels or cereal and milk, coffee and juice. There are much nicer places to stay in the area for much less money.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Lodge, camp instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is all about value. When I pay twice what I'd pay for a Holiday Inn Express, I'd expect at least the same value. The room was small. The beds were terribly bouncy and springy and the mattress was about half the thickness of most. There was brown water out of the tap. The carpet looked like a frat house. The free WIFI was non-existent. I even asked the front reception and she was like "yeah, it's really bad. If you try to get on now, let it spin and you may be on by morning". Really?!

The only plus side is the campground amenities but they are mostly for young kids and even 12 year old will find most of it boring.

If you go here, just do the camping option although it looked pretty tight. You'll be disappointed if you pay for a room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent two nights in the Lodge. The room was fine. The balcony was nice. The lodge is a bit removed from the kid fun but we didn't mind the walk. We wish we had stayed in a cabin but didn't know what to expect. This place is totally kid friendly. We fished, rode bikes, went horseback riding, went to the night lighting at Mt. Rushmore, watched the Indian dancers and panned for rocks. They had several pools, a water slide and a great store aimed at kiddos. There is a "main street" with shops and such including good coffee and great ice cream. My only complaint - no cell service in the lodge. I had to stand at the edge of the pool to get service and it was spotty. So if you need to conduct business while there, it won't happen. Staff was nice, it is very close to Mt. Rushmore where there was great cell service. Hopefully, you go there to have fun and not work so cell service wont be an issue for you.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin. They are fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at Palmer Gulch! We stayed in one of the cabins with the hottub on the deck! The cabin was clean and comfortable! It was wonderful and the staff were friendly and very helpful! My only complaint was the lack of internet access..lol. We will visit Palmer Gulch again..we loved it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location to stay and enjoy the Hills. Trail rides, good restaurant & bar. We will stay again. No night clerk but it was not an issue- did get kicked out of the hot tub at 9pm even though it is supposed to be open until 10 pm. Because the staff were all leaving for the night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the lodge for a family reunion. The room was a nice size for 2 double beds. It could have been a little cleaner, but it was fine. I guess this is the case with most hotels, but we were on the 1st floor and could hear the people above us walking around. Maybe we had bad luck with those guests walking around A LOT, but it kept my husband and me awake. I would request a 2nd floor room if you can get it. The free b'fast was pretty sparce, but since it was free, it is hard to complain. The amenities on site were great and much enjoyed by our children. That includes the horseback riding, the hot tub, splash pad, putt putt golf, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Palmer Gulch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.