We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prairie Berry Winery

Prairie Berry Winery
23837 Hwy. 385, Hill City, SD 57745
877.226.9453
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: A modern winery with elements that point to the family's five generations of South Dakota winemaking experience. Just a few miles from Mount Rushmore, with patio seating, hip heritage decor in the Tasting Room and Kitchen dining areas. Free tasting of our award-winning wines, from dry reds to sweet fruit. Fresh, gourmet food from our Kitchen. Open daily, year-round. Closed New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped at Prairie Berry on a whim, and what a wonderful surprise it turned out to be for us. My husband assumed he would hate it, because he "doesn't like wine." We are now carrying 7 bottles home to Iowa...4 of which were his requests! Great staff, beautiful location and surprisingly great wine. Definitely joining the wine club and can't wait for a return visit!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Sr. Branding & Marketing Association at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to stop at Prairie Berry, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it greatly and are thrilled you found us a "wonderful surprise." Thank you again for telling your story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    93
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union Center, South Dakota
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Merits a return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

GF "dragged" me to a wine tasting, and it was good and free. Wine samples and crackers. I believe the ones in Europe use cheese instead? Wanted to try the kitchen out badly, but nothing on the menu for GF. LOL, I'll "drag" her back sometime and she can taste wine while I eat. Lot of construction in/around parking lot while we were there, but still accessible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you had a good experience. The crackers during the wine tasting are designed to be a palate cleanser, so the wines aren't affected by the taste of previous samples. We often offer samples of cheeses we recommend pairing with our wines, so be sure to ask if there's a particular wine/cheese you're interested in trying. We do have several menu items that are gluten-free, and we're sorry that wasn't noted more clearly. We will evaluate our menu to see if there's a more effective way of communicating that. We hope you get to "drag" your girlfriend back and give our Kitchen a shot! Also, our parking lot is FINISHED! We're sorry for any inconvenience you experienced, and we appreciate you visiting in spite of the chaos. There's still some construction going on around the winery, but it shouldn't affect our visitors as much.
Thanks again for the great review, and for bringing those items to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxing, great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lunch at the winery was one of our favorite events. Reasonable prices, very good food, friendly staff, unique wines, and great for kids. They have a kids' menu and outdoor seating, which allows the kids to run around and/or be a bit louder.

They provide a free wine tasting (up to five wines in 1 oz. portions). During the tasting, they have my 4-year-old some animal crackers. Everyone was happy!

Minor downside: There's a lot of construction right now in front of the winery. As far as we could tell, this was going to greatly improve the winery grounds. So don't let the construction deter you -- this is a great establishment and a fun experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for the great response! We're glad your whole family enjoyed your visit, and that we could provide a grown-up venue where kids (and parents) felt comfortable. GOOD NEWS! Our parking lot is finished! We appreciate everyone's perseverance and flexibility while our parking lot was under construction. There is still some construction going on around the winery, but the majority of it shouldn't affect visitors. Thanks again, and we hope you come back and see the finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wine tasting was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Althought I did not get a chance to eat I did however get to try some of the wines here. I am not a huge wine drinker and when I find a good one I stick with it, so telling the staff my likes and dislikes knew exactly what to recommend. They were knowledgable of all of the wine they had served us. It was all delicious. Hopefully next time I can get a chance to eat there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I will pass your compliments on to our staff--we all love hearing that we provided a great experience, and that you found some wines you liked. Thank you for visiting, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staff was really nice and took their time to explain everything. The place is charming and the food very good. Wine tasting is free and the wine selection and variety was very good. The food was reasonable if you wanted it. My only regret is that they do not ship to my home state and we did not want to do carryon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience! We're glad the staff provided a good experience, and that our food and wine lived up to your expectations. We regret that we can't ship to New York, but you never know what the future will bring! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Berry Winery also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prairie Berry Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.