We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prairie Berry Winery

Prairie Berry Winery
23837 Hwy. 385, Hill City, SD 57745
877.226.9453
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: A modern winery with elements that point to the family's five generations of South Dakota winemaking experience. Just a few miles from Mount Rushmore, with patio seating, hip heritage decor in the Tasting Room and Kitchen dining areas. Free tasting of our award-winning wines, from dry reds to sweet fruit. Fresh, gourmet food from our Kitchen. Open daily, year-round. Closed New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I recently organized a trip for 30 guests to Prairie Berry. Kelsey helped make the planning so easy! The staff served all 30 guests with ease, first with a private tasting, then with an excellent buffet meal. We were then invited to shop, visit, or try more samples. The staff at the sampling bars were wonderful. They gave us many ideas for pairings and made other suggestions. It was a beautiful day (46 degrees in January) so many of our guests enjoyed a glass of wine in the outdoor patio. Beautiful grounds and a wonderful renovation inside. All of our guests were very happy with our stop at Prairie Berry. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for bringing your group to Prairie Berry and for taking the time to post a review! We're always happy to hear that our staff provided a great experience and we love it when the weather helps! I have passed your compliments on to Kelsey and the rest of the staff, and they were delighted to hear you had such a great visit.
Please don't hesitate to contact us for other special events, or if you have any suggestions for ways we can improve. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    94
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“It's OK - pretty spendy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Prairie Berry Winery is a fun place to stop near Hill City. It's got great decor and a great atmosphere. It's really spendy though, I was shocked at how expensive a bottle of wine is. I am not enough of a wine drinker to understand whether or not the wine was worth the asking price. Maybe this place would be a great stop for the wine aficionado.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here! Our goal is to offer wines that appeal to all palates, aficionado or not. We hope the 720 international awards we've received for our unique wines indicate that they are indeed worth the cost, which averages about $20/bottle.

Thanks for visiting, and please let us know if you have any other comments or suggestions for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A fun stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had seen Prairie Berry on-line before we went to the Black Hills and really wanted to go, however we had our four kids with us. A quick email to them, with a prompt reply, assured me that they were kid-friendly and all was well.

When we pulled up, we were impressed with the facility up on the hill. Sure enough, the lawns out front had shaded picnic tables and lawn games for the kids.

Inside we were met by great varieties of wine and friendly staff! The atmosphere was perfect! They have a little deli/restaurant but we just did the wine tasting. A nice little gift shop of t-shirts, coasters etc is also available. It was a fun stop!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for making time for us during your visit to the Black Hills, and for posting a review! We always like to hear that families enjoy their time here, and are glad your kids took advantage of the lawn games and the wagon. Thanks also for posting the photos. We're excited to see some green around here again! Have a great year, and if you're ever back in the area, we hope you stop by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, SD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our go to place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visit Prairie Berry every couple of months when we do not have company, and more often when we do have company. It has unique and delicious wine to sample, an excellent kitchen and helpful friendly staff. It's the perfect way to spend a part of any day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're always happy to know that locals enjoy visiting. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your visit more special. Have a great 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Based on advice from locals (and good reviews), visited this winery off season to miss the crowds. Did appetizers for lunch and the wine tasting. Atmosphere is pleasant, clean and professional. Parking lot is being expanded over winter. Personnel are fantastic, and the food, while a little pricey, is excellent and well worthwhile. Oh yes, the wine is very good as well. Grapes used are from SD, region, and elsewhere. I was particularly pleased with the white wines from local grapes. These are actually a somewhat better value than the fruit wines, which are also very good. Bottom line: I will be returning to this gem of the Black Hills.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We're always happy to hear from our guests. We will pass along your compliments to our staff, and let our Kitchen and winemaker know you enjoyed the food and South Dakota white wines.
Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Berry Winery also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prairie Berry Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.