We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of fresh air.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bumpin Buffalo Bar & Grill

Bumpin Buffalo Bar & Grill
245 Main St, Hill City, SD 57745
605-574-4100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breath of fresh air.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Memorial Day weekend. Every other business was looking for seasonal help and the lack of service showed. Not the bumping buffalo! Good food, such a darling server, and great atmosphere. Will always return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    92
    53
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good at what they do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is another restaurant that is unpretentious. They do beer and sandwiches and they do it well. Service was excellent, our buffalo burgers were very flavorful as were the onion rings and fries that came with them. Don't go expecting a fine dining experience, but when you're in the mood for a burger and beer, this is as good as place as any I've tried.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yuppie bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Too expensive, the food was average and undercooked, the service was not very friendly, it looked out of place In hill city

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Gathering Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

After visiting another watering hole in Hill City we decided to stop in at the Bumpin Buffalo for a drink to check out the place. Wish this was our first stop. A great local hangout where the locals make you feel welcome. The bar area is not very big but there is an upstairs loft for dining. This was the best bar scene we visited while in Hill City.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A few pet peeves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stopped in for lunch last week and had the fish and chips which were delicious. The food arrived quickly and was hot and not greasy. Pay the extra for the sweet potato fries, they are worth it. The coleslaw is NOT. Although it was gorgeous, very colorful, it was absolutely tasteless. The $4.99 cupcake was not worth it either.

My server was fairly attentive and friendly, but this is where a couple of pet peeves come in...PLEASE, introduce yourself. I'm sure most servers don't want to make friends with most guests you take care of, but I at least, would like your know your name.

My next pet peeve...when taking my bill, do not ask me if I want change...yeah, if I give you a $20 for a $9 check, you bet I want change, and that question alone will lower the amount of tip I leave you. Better to say, I'll be right back with your change, if I don't want change, I will tell you then.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumpin Buffalo Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bumpin Buffalo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumpin Buffalo Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.