We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   616 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hill City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ralston, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No elevator!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was 2 floors, with no elevator! Toting heavy luggage up the stairs was a nightmare! If I would have known that, I would have requested a room on the first floor. Once we got to our room, it was OK. The breakfast was good-any place that has a waffle maker ranks high in my books! Had a nice deck/patio. The pillows on the beds were awful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay (other than the lack of an elevator!) and that you were able to enjoy your time n the Black Hills. Being only 2 floors and our facility is a bit "land locked" for space, we do not have an elevator but always offer to help with luggage up the stairs if needed.
Again, thank you for taking precious time out of your busy schedule to offer your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    70
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
56
57
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Yes, this hotel is a bit dated. BUT, the service we got was well worth the money spent. I had booked this hotel in advance. Check in was a breeze, but when we got to our room we realized that the bed was not going to work! My fiancé is a very large man and a queen bed was impossible. My mistake, but I decided to see if we could get a larger room. Not only did the gal at the front desk find us a King size room she even showed me where each one was located so I could choose! I wish I could remember her name, but, if this hotel sees this review, it was the gal who generally works the evening shift. She deserves a raise!
Breakfast was very good. Hot and plenty of it. The only problem, if you can call it that, is the breakfast room is too small. It was a gorgeous day so we sat outside and enjoyed our breakfast on the deck.
Everything was clean in our room as well as the common areas.
We did not use the pool that night but did look in on it and it was clean with plenty of towels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King bed room close to the back stairs. We never heard noise from people coming up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review and I have shared your kind words with the rest of our staff! It helps when we know that you have left our hotel knowing how valued and important you are to each of us. I have also shared your praise with Fran (the young lady who helped you at the Front Desk that evening) and I realize what an asset she is to our facility, for sure! She has been with us almost 16 years now and she really knows how to serve guests and she knows the area and the hotel well to be able to give excellent recommendations and help our guest who come to see Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, and Custer State Park.
We hope to see you again in the very near future to give you that great service you have come to expect from the Quality Inn-Hill City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel was very good, but we needed a rollaway and the thing we got was too narrow for an adult to sleep on and had to be placed on the floor, also too low for a lot of adults. They failed in that regard and need to get something better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Quality Inn in June. The check in process was smooth and we couldn't have asked for a nicer employee at the front desk. Our room was quite large with two queen beds, dining table and chairs, a microwave and a refrigerator. This hotel is very close to all the attractions and is a pleasant 5 minute walk to Hill City's shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the choices at breakfast and we appreciated the coffee being available all day. The 2 women who worked at breakfast were superb employees.
We do have one suggestion...bring your own pillows, if possible, as the hotel has small square pillows. (My husband said that they looked like Tic Tacs for Godzilla). However, the pillows did not distract from an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Hill City! It is our goal to see each guest experience the best stay possible and knowing we attained that experience for you is definitely encouraging to the staff to keep up the good work. Our Breakfast staff are some of the hardest workers I know of and they will be glad to know that their work was enjoyed and appreciated by you.
I agree that our pillow arrangement is a bit confusing, however, the pillows are actually full-sized, just folded to make them aesthetically appealing when you enter the room. We try to inform guests that they can open the pillows up to full size for a much better night's rest.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you visit the beautiful Black Hills!
Sincerely,
KC B.
Gen Mgr.
SD040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This property is conveniently located but is a mixed bag of experiences. Its centrally located for area attractions. We stayed here because it was the only hotel with rooms available that night.

Check in: super staff, friendly and accommodating.
Common Areas: clean
Rooms: about as sparse as they come. Adequate but over-priced.
Sleep: beds were lousy with everyone complaining of a poor night of sleep.
Breakfast: perhaps the best we saw all week in any hotel. We ate on the outside deck overlooking the creek on a beautiful morning.

Overall, the experience was a mixed bag for us. We enjoyed the staff and breakfast but found the property to be a poor choice otherwise. We will look for alternate accommodations next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of a busy schedule to review our property. First of all, please allow me to convey my sincerest apologies that you were not comfortable in your stay here. From your comments, it seems all was good with the exception of your bed not being as comfortable to you as you would have liked. I have not received complaints that folks had "poor nights sleep" other than this and I am at the desk during check out times for that specific purpose and would always welcome the opportunity to "make it right" prior to a guests' departure, rather than to find out later that there was no way to recompense for this factor. As folks have differing needs with either firmness or softness of the bed, it becomes impossible to meet everyone's needs and we apologize that you were not satisfied with them.
We thank you for your kind reflection on our staff and their willingness to serve and accommodate and hope that the rest of your travels found you both safe and accommodated.
Kind Regards,
KC B.
Gen Mgr. SD040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for the second time in three years at the Quality Inn in Hill City. The hotel location is perfect for accessing the major attractions in the Black Hills. The hotel is pretty basic as far as accommodations go. The pool is small, the rooms have beds, TV, table and chairs, but no microwave or refrigerator, as some Quality Inns have. The continental breakfast was very good and the attendant did a wonderful job keeping all the food stations full. There was a wide variety of choices from hot eggs, meat, biscuits, Danishes, cold cereal, bread and bagels, juice, coffee, make your own waffles, and both skim and 2% milk. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable, but room temp was hard to regulate. The housekeeper turned off the air after cleaning when we were out and we came back to a very warm and stuffy room after being out all day in 90 degree weather. The hotel was booked full this holiday weekend. Despite the full hotel, the noise level was not an issue at all. If we come to the Black Hills again, I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. It is always a pleasure to be able to convey positive feedback to the staff and allow them to know they are being effective on giving our guests the best stay possible. We hope to see you agian in the near future!
Sincerely,
KC B.
Gen Mgr SD040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is located, central to most major attractions, from Custer State Park to Mount Rushmore. The employees are helpful. The beds are comfy,. The breakfast is good and well stocked, and you can eat inside or outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC B, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the kind review at that. As you stated we are centrally located for all the best Black Hills area attractions. Our goal is to give every guest the best possible stay in our facility.
We hope you will return again and give another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
KC B.
Gen Mgr. SD040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 616 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hill City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hill City is located less than 15 mins from both Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse National Monuments, in the Heart of the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota. We are conveniently located in Hill City with delectable restaurants, lovely art galleries, the 1880 Train, specialty shops, and more within walking distance. We serve the largest hot, fresh breakfast in the area, with eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits & gravy, fresh waffles, fruit, bagels, Danishes, muffins, donuts, toasts, and more EVERY morning from 6:30 to 9:30 AM. Beautiful scenery and quiet relaxation await you at the Quality Inn Hill City, SD! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hill City Hotel Hill City
Hill City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.