We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desperados Cowboy Restaurant

Desperados Cowboy Restaurant
301 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745
605-574-2959
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 restaurants in Hill City
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was recommended to use during our week long stay in the Black Hills and the recommendation was spot on.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    139
    108
    35
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Neat little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a late lunch at Desperado and were a little skeptical going in. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The decorations were neat, the place looked very clean and our food was tasty and reasonably priced. The host and waitress were both pleasant and efficient. Based on our experience I would recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better for lunch than dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent trip. First time was for lunch, burgers and pulled pork sandiches which were great. Came back a few days later for dinner and not as good. Different menu with less choices, ribs were horrible and cowboy Mac n cheese was bland. Friendly staff. Strongest iced tea I've ever had, not a fan.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped by this nice little restaurant for lunch. The outside almost looks like an Old West Saloon, but inside is a nice restaurant with just the right balance of history & charm. The food was very good & the service was fast & friendly. We had buffalo burgers & a pulled pork sandwich with kettle chips. My husband ordered the bread pudding for dessert & it was heavenly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner as we walked in for lunch at this wonderful little gem in Hill City! The atmosphere was great, the decor was charming and the food was wonderful. We had the BBQ sandwiches, Chicken Avacado BLT, Cheeseburger, sweet potato fries and the AMAZING Walnut pie! Great food in a great little town. So glad we stumbled upon this one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados Cowboy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Desperados Cowboy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desperados Cowboy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.