We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desperados Cowboy Restaurant

Desperados Cowboy Restaurant
301 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745
605-574-2959
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Hill City
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped by this nice little restaurant for lunch. The outside almost looks like an Old West Saloon, but inside is a nice restaurant with just the right balance of history & charm. The food was very good & the service was fast & friendly. We had buffalo burgers & a pulled pork sandwich with kettle chips. My husband ordered the bread pudding for dessert & it was heavenly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    142
    48
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner as we walked in for lunch at this wonderful little gem in Hill City! The atmosphere was great, the decor was charming and the food was wonderful. We had the BBQ sandwiches, Chicken Avacado BLT, Cheeseburger, sweet potato fries and the AMAZING Walnut pie! Great food in a great little town. So glad we stumbled upon this one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Delicious and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good at reasonable prices. The owner was there attending to details. My pulled pork sandwich was truly smoked, so I only added a touch of sauce. My husband's burger and fries were well above average...nice atmosphere too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect balance of western decor, great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Ate here two nights in a row. Buffalo burger and buffalo tenderloin were both very good. Ran out of ribs the first night (they were in progress, but we were OK with alternate choices). Chicken was good. Decent choice of regional beers. Having just seen the Eagles in a concert the week before, it was a neat coincidence that the restaurant was named after one of their songs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“great western spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I went there with my husband and son. We had the hawg wings , walleye and saddlebag salad and everything was delicious. The local beer Crow Peak was pretty good. The building and western ambiance were awesome. For dessert we order the bread pudfing and it was amazing. Overall it was a great South Dakota experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados Cowboy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Desperados Cowboy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desperados Cowboy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.