We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast and wonderful Inn Keepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
200 East Main Street, PO Box 765, Hill City, SD 57745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hill City B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast and wonderful Inn Keepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Had a great stay at this bed and breakfast in the Hill City area. My wife and I chose this B&B because of the overwhelming reviews and after speaking to Sam and Linda on the phone. Our expectations were met and exceeded! They are great people with fine accomodations,tasty breakfasts and delicious frappes! The wonderful breakfast was enough to keep us filled up for a day of site seeing. They know much about the area and offer tips for day trips and so forth. They are so pleasant and both sit around and chat with you after breakfast over a cup of coffee.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and very roomy. We liked the private entrance. The breakfasts are sooo good! Could possibly be the best omelet I've ever had!

If we are in the Hill City area again we know where we will stay. Thanks again Sam and Linda for a great time! From Tom and Cherie

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania, usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We prefer B&B's and this was a nice one. Linda and Sam are friendly owners who give A+ service. Each of the 3 rooms have a separate entrance which I liked. Ours was in the main section and we locked the building at night. The trust they put in their guests is refreshing. Location is walkable to Hill City and drivable to everywhere else. 15 minutes to Custer and Mt Rushmore, 40 minutes to Rapid City and the airport. Breakfast was homemade, fresh and accommodating to your needs and taste.

Nothing is perfect and my only comment is they use energy saving florescent bulbs in all the fixtures which I applaud. But on the other hand the room was a bit dark.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

After reading all the great reviews and checking out their website, I knew M2P was the place for us! How can you go wrong with a place that names the rooms after their own mothers?? We stayed in the brand-new Prairie suite and it was so cozy! Just like having our own little log cabin and decorated so nicely (we wanted to take the bathroom sink home...). Lovely organic bath products, good A/C, a microwave and fridge, wi-fi.. The few little things they didn't have ready yet because of the newness of the room they promptly put in place for us by the time we got back from an evening trip to Mt. Rushmore.

One review complained that they serve breakfast at one time for all the guests, but I think that's fair enough - there are only 2 of them, after all, and the food is super, you wouldn't want it sitting around all morning like a Days Inn continental breakfast. And when we had to leave early one morning, they made up a to-go breakfast of muffins and fruit for us, as well as their stellar coffee (try the chokecherry latte!!). Even though they do have pretty set times for things like check-in and breakfast, they accommodate special requests if asked.

Sam and Linda themselves are lovely people with lots of great advice for tourists. I wish we'd been able to stay longer and chat with them more, and to take more of their suggestions for places to see in the area - we obviously need to come back to the Black Hills! They obviously love children (they doted on the two boys who were staying across the hall) and this would be a super place to stay with kids. Our room had built-in bunk beds just waiting for some little people to crawl into them.

Overall, a great place to stay - friendly people, charming atmosphere, good food, comfy room... And I liked the private entrance and the way the rooms were situated, you don't feel like you're crowded into someone else's home, which I sometimes find in B&B's. If you're in Hill City, pay Sam and Linda a visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Sam and Linda are very helpful with their extensive knowledge of the area. Their home was clean and comfortable for our family of 5. The fresh fruit, freshly ground coffee and specialty teas made our mornings!

We can't say enough wonderful things about them. We hope to visit the lovely black hills and stay st their Bed and Breakfast again someday.

Thanks Sam and Linda for all you do!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker, arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We picked this B & B because of the overwhelming posivtive reviews on this site. When we arrived on the afternoon of July 2 we were asked to pay the remainder of our bill before having a proper greeting or seeing the room. I thought that was odd considering that is usually the last thing done upon departure. The room was clean and adequately maintained but it was cluttered with unecessary furniture. (I guess they are still in the antique buisness.) The ceiling fan outside the door in the entry would sure have been nice replacing the light fixture in the room. The bed looked good but needs to have an upgrade, my wife and I kept meeting in the middle.
Breakfast is at 8:30, no exceptions. Before that time I walked to the local convenience store for my coffee and paper. Breakfasts were good but we were served in the antique store and where was the coffee.? We had to ask for it. The first 2 days we were served a specialty coffee that we did not care for. ( I got the idea they used to be in that buisness before now.) On the final day we had the standard brewed coffee waiting for us. It was good. This buisness does not have a common room nor does it serve anything (cookies, chips, brownies etc) in the late afternoon or evening as many established B & B's do. Of course no early morning coffee was available.
Linda and especially Sam are very nice people that mean well. They apparently have not been in the B & B buisness very long and seemed to be overwhelmed by all the facets of such a buisness.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Mountains to Prairies was our first Bed and Breakfast stay! We had always avoided B&Bs with our young children, but M2P put those worries to rest! They are not only family-friendly, but they welcomed our children with open arms! We stayed in the Bluma Madle Suite which is equipped with a very fun "bear den" that our kids LOVED! "Indoor camping" is their style and was a true highlight for their vacation. Each day, our son (age 4) would ask us when we were going back to the bear den. To him, it was another vacation destination!

Sam and Linda served a wonderful breakfast each morning! You are assured a big, HEALTHY breakfast that will leave you satisfied for hours! They also offer a nice selection of tea and specialty coffees. (The chokecherry latte was OUTSTANDING!)

M2P offered us a fun experience, very comfortable lodging, privacy and peace of mind. We truly enjoyed getting to know Sam and Linda and found that they are a wealth of information about the Black Hills area. We LOVED our stay! Now when we are going away for a weekend, the kids ask, "Are we going to see Sam and Linda?".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We loved the Black Hills and all the surrounding sites, but what made our vacation so perfect and memorable was Mountains To Prairies B&B, more specifically, Sam and Linda. Their hospitality and clear desire to make our stay special did not go unnoticed nor unapprecitated. The breakfasts were to die for - upon learning that my daughter loved the cinnamon rolls served on our first day, Linda graciously made them again our last morning there. Every morning we looked forward to the fresh fruit, homemade preserves, delicious entrees, and the coffee. After breakfast Sam and Linda would share their knowledge of sites to see and some of the area's history. The location of the B&B is perfect with shops and restaurants within walking distance. We were lucky enough to stay in both rooms for the week we were there. Both were comfortable, spacious, and clean. One room could comfortably sleep 5 people and comes equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave, and flat screen TV. The room displays amazing woodwork constructed by Sam. The second room is furnished with adorable antiques, a large jacuzzi bath, flat screen TV, and a "bear den" perfect for kids or extra persons. They are currently working on a third room to be available in August. Without a doubt this is the best place (B&B, hotel, resort) we have ever stayed. We felt as if it was our home away from home and we miss it already.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 East Main Street, PO Box 765, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in hills, near scenic drives, mountain lakes, wilderness, caves. Walk to historic downtown. Log-accented suite has 'bear den' for children. Pine-wrapped suite with loft sleeps up to five, and cabin-style suite with kitchenette sleeps three; personal entrances. All three provide queen pillowtop beds, satellite hdtv/dvd/vcr, wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, ac, smoke/pet free. Inhouse antiques shop and espresso bar. Make M2P your starting point, and your relaxing place. Discounts available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.