We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality - Avearge doesn't really describe it well- better than average would sound better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The George At Great Oxendon

The George At Great Oxendon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Oxendon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George At Great Oxendon
Save
You added The George At Great Oxendon to your Saves list
Harborough Road, Great Oxendon LE16 8NA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good quality - Avearge doesn't really describe it well- better than average would sound better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We came here for an informal Saturday birthday lunch. The menu choice was simple but good. The pub was busy and nice and warm with an open fire. We had two children with us which can put some people off but they were well behaved and were well accommodated.
The service was a little slow and the portion size a bit disappointing but the quality of each of our meals was good. I would certainly go back for a nice pub meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
8
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I’m not one for writing reviews but felt I absolutely must, it’s so nice to find a place in the area that has something different on the menu to offer, all the food is seasonal and offers something for everyone without offering to much! The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive and we have had several amazing meals with them at The George.

We have been on a Wednesday and Saturday night and also for Sunday lunch and we have not been let down!! 5/5 team George, me and the family will definitely be back for many moons to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We invited relatives to have lunch with us at The George on the basis of recommendations from friends and good reviews on Trip Advisor. My beef and ale pie was delicious but was served only with a few peas (presumably frozen) and a tiny portion of chips. For pudding I had chocolate cheesecake that had not been long out of the freezer. It was still frozen solid. It tasted good although obviously the texture was all wrong. I was too hungry to complain or wait for it to thaw. The other main courses and desserts were also disappointing. "Summer fruit pavlova" was a meringue topped with whipped cream with a couple of strawberries cut up and placed separately on the plate. Bread and butter pudding was said to be far too sugary and missing sultanas.

The building and garden are attractive and the staff are friendly. If you are hungry you will need to have a starter as well, as main course portions are not generous. The beer was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The George used to be a regular haunt of ours a few years back, as the food was reliably good. Things changed a bit when a new chef moved in, but now the previous chef owner is back – and so are we! The menu is short but comprehensive, there's always an interesting specials board and the food is clearly freshly prepared and cooked. You can eat in the bar (log fire in the cooler months), in the cosy restaurant or sunny dining conservatory or, as we did at lunchtime today, outside in the lovely garden. Good range of ales on tap and a decent wine list. Friendly and efficient service. A proper independent pub serving great quality food.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a table for 8 for a family celebration for Sunday lunch. The service was very very slow. We all ordered starters, main course. The starters came and they were awful - "fillet of macarel on a beetroot bed turned out to be some flakes on beetroot, welsh rarebit was cheap and nasty, just terrible. The main course was much better but only 3 small dishes of vegetables for 8 of us - very very mean. The desserts were all over done and not home made, which for the bill of £190ish you do not expect. We will not be returning and we only live 2 miles away. Poor food, disinterested staff, better food at home, there really is no point going here........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan W, Owner at The George At Great Oxendon, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Juicy Lucy

Obviously, we appreciate that anybody is free to hold an opinion on us, and that
anybody is free to post their opinion on tripadvisor. However, with your particular
review, we would like to clear up a few issues.

- We can assure that the "flakes on beetroot" were flakes of (smoked) mackerel.

- Every dessert (with the exception of Christmas Pudding) that has left the kitchen at
The George in probably the last 20 years has been home made, including yours.

- You mention that our staff are disinterested. Upon hearing of your complaints
about the meal, the owner of the business left the kitchen in the middle of service to
speak with your table, and then offer your table desserts on the house. We are sorry
you didn't enjoy them.

- You also mentioned the bill of £190ish. Just to be clear, as this is a
correspondence that anybody can read, our Sunday lunch is priced from £9.95 to
£14.95 from 1 to 3 courses. Wine is from £12 per bottle. We reiterate that we invited
your table desserts.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy yourselves whilst you were here, we appreciate
that it wasn't perfect, and we're sorry that what we did for you wasn't enough.

Regards,

The George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We called in here for lunch as it's in The Good Pub Guide. It's a real pub with a choice of real ales. It has real pub furniture, and there was a log fire. The food was outstanding for a pub. I had wonderful steak and kidney pie - tender, lean meat and kindeys too! It was notable too for the vegetables: two green, lovely al dente savoy and crunchy green beans, and mashed potatoes. My wife had an intense, aromaitc tomato soup. Service was friendly and efficient. It's worth noting that this is but four miles up the A508 from the A14, so easily accessible. A real gem. We've recorded it to make sure we return next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten here on three separate occasions with the food and service being fantastic every time.

On my most recent visit I opted for two dishes from the specials board: Garlic Mushrooms with Melted Cheddar Cheese followed by Rump Steak and Fries.

The mushroom dish was delicious; plenty of juicy vegetables smothered in a really flavoursome cheddar. The steak was ordered medium-rare and arrived as such. It's a sad fact that a lot of places don't get it right these days but cap off to this chef.

My mum had Grilled Haddock which I also tried and found to be well cooked.

The bill without drinks came to under £24. For a starter and two main meals I found this to be really good value. I've paid more for worse.

It is worth noting that indeed there are new owners and the menu has changed but going on personal experience I happily rate 5*.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George At Great Oxendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George At Great Oxendon

Address: Harborough Road, Great Oxendon LE16 8NA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Great Oxendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Oxendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic English countryside pub, restaurant and Bed & Breakfast five miles from the A14 in the village of Great Oxendon. Homemade, great value food, a selection of real ales and 3 comfortable & welcoming rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George At Great Oxendon Hotel Market Harborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George At Great Oxendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.