We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret & Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Itteringham Mill

Itteringham Mill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Itteringham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Itteringham Mill
Save
You added Itteringham Mill to your Saves list
Itteringham NR11 7AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Itteringham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Secret & Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Tucked away in the tiny hamlet of Itteringham is possibly the best B&B we have ever been to. The owners have done a wonderful job in renovating the old water mill and the rooms are of top quality standard. My sister in law had a view overlooking the mill pond that was to die for. The owners could not have made us more welcome and the breakfast would last the day....I have been on a diet ever since returning. We will certainly be returning. When there also visit the village community shop which has excellent cakes and anything else you require but needs supporting.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the mill pond. But if not available the others are still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bredfield, Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were B&B guests for just one night, whilst attending a concert at nearby Blickling Hall, but what a fabulous experience! This has to be the very best B&B we have ever stayed at. A property which has won both design and 'green' Awards, it is set in beautiful grounds and maintained to a very high standard. Owners Peter and Lis carried out the most amazing conversion work at the rear of the Mill a few years ago, to provide Rooms 1 & 2 with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the clear waters of the River Bure, whilst at ground-floor level the dining room and kitchen both enjoy the same view. We were fortunate to stay in Room 1 and found it very difficult to leave. Breakfast was excellent, with attentive and charming hosts and afterwards we joining Lis in feeding the trout from the walkway that runs along the entire length of the rear conversion. For evening dining, the Walpole Arms is only a two minute walk away and is first-class. All-in-all, a most enjoyable 24 hour break, staying at what was hitherto an undiscovered gem in this beautiful part of Norfolk. We unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in room 2, which is one of the two modern rooms which have been added. It is very comfortable, clean and warm, with good lighting and a lovely view of the millpond. The bathroom is excellent, with a great shower. The whole house feels like it would be cosy in the winter. There are various spots to read a book and relax. Breakfast is very good and eaten overlooking the river. It is at a communal table, which some might not like. The location is very peaceful and you will get a good night's rest. The owners are extremely hospitable and Lis in particular is a special person. The Walpole Arms at the end of the drive is a good pub (although maybe not the Michelin starred event it once was) and The Saracen's Head (5 min drive away) is excellent - best meal we've had in ages. Our one small criticism is that the blinds are a bit transparent given that our room got the sun first thing, so without an eye mask you will wake early.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have a view onto the millpond and are modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Mill is in the most amazing place. An amazing top quality getaway.
The owner are great people who can't do enough for you.
The pub at the end of the drive serves the best quality food. The staff there are also great and the quiz night was brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in Kingfisher Cottage at Itteringham Mill and it was wonderful. The cottage had everything you needed with lots of local information in a folder. The atmosphere of the whole place was tranquil and the visiting swans nearly every day was just wonderful. There are some lovely places to sit near the millpond or around the lovely gardens. Liz and Peter were very welcoming and I cannot recommend Itteringham Mill highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have hust returned from a 2 night break at Itteringham Mill.
The room was outstanding with a glass wall overlooking the mill pond the breakfasts werevery good really set us up for the day.
Liz and Peter were very welcoming hosts with lots of suggestions on what to do during our visit.
We will be returning

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or 2 if free
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

What a fantastic find with welcoming hosts. Itteringham Mill is a 5star B&B based in Norfolk. It is very 'green' and self sufficient with its own wind turbine and solar panels.

The B&B was fully booked but my husband and I were offered self catering accomodation across the drive at Swallows Cottage. What a lovely place. It was fully equipped with everything and I mean everything that you might need for a relaxing break away.

You really need to try this out even if you are not used to 'do it yourself' holidays.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Itteringham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itteringham Mill

Address: Itteringham NR11 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Itteringham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Itteringham
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Itteringham Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.