We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenwade Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lenwade Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Lenwade Country House Hotel
Fakenham Road, Lenwade NR9 5QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lenwade
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All you could ask for!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. Amazing grounds. Friendly, attentive and welcoming staff.

Thank you for a great stay. We particularly loved the comfortable beds and spacious rooms. The breakfast was lovely. Not only good quality but the relaxed atmosphere in the breakfast room.

Will definitely stay here again if in the area. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    41
    25
    26
    12
See reviews for
56
99
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not the best for a short break.

This hotel is in a beautiful peaceful location and the staff are charming and helpful. However, daily management skills are lacking. Our room was clean but there were maintenance issues. Breakfast was basic English, with no fish options and no provision of cold meats, cheese or yogurts for continental visitors. Tinned grapefruit would have been preferable to tinned peaches! Orange juice ran out and was not provided for two mornings. Friends joined us for dinner one evening. Only two others were eating when we ordered, but there was just one portion of a particular starter which was disappointing. Two main courses were unacceptable and were deducted from our bill. However, we would have preferred an enjoyable and well cooked meal. The prices were certainly excessive for the quality.

The hotel decor is soul-less and cheapened by too many false plants and flowers. Outside, plants around the patio area are neglected with weeds growing through the shingle. There are broken parasols which could easily be repaired. TLC is needed here and the manager/owner should lead the staff by example.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GT yarmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent hotel with spacious room, attentive and friendly staff. Food very good and tranquil country surroundings. Plenty of parking right next to the door. There is a patio and conservatory overlooking the nearby river. Pheasants in the grounds. This would and does make a very popular wedding venue so if you like a quiet stay you may wish to avoid booking when a wedding is on.

Room Tip: We used a Groupon Voucher which gave us a 50% discount. We had a ground floor double en suite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed a short break here in a lovely setting. It was good value for money and we enjoyed it.Our.Room .....clean and comfortable and staff were,without exception,very helpful though very busy.The shower had a mind of its own and took a bit of adjusting but we got there . Evening meals on the terrace by the river were well prepared and presented offering good value .It was too hot to face a three course dinner in the restaurant but the menu looked fine. The breakfast was ok but it is difficult to keep scrambled egg appetising and edible when pre- cooked.....not sure how that could be addressed but it would make a real difference if it was.The hotel appears to be a popular venue for weddings...they were preparing for o.ne as we were leaving
It deserves to be better known generally as it is in a good central location for exploring Norfolk..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding and found venue in lovely surroundings. Rooms fairly clean, hot and cold taps marked wrong , staff fantastic and couldn't be more helpful. Bar prices higher than in london and that's saying something . Breakfast very good . Felt the prices for this type of venue were higher than you would expect . Wedding planning seemed very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

my family and i,went to lenwade house hotel,to enjoy an evening meal,sitting on the river terrace.The surroundings and location are stunning.Their were several others there.The lady on the bar was very informative,and recommended food off the menu.Not entirely sure what had happened in the kitchen,but there was an hours delay with the food coming out. We were offered a drink on the house,whilist we waited,which we were happy with.There was a bit of commotion,in the bar area,with another family,who were very loud,and rude to the staff,which was uncalled for.The lady on the bar,was very professional,and calm,and kept apologising to all the other guests.Watching this episode unfold,certainly passed the time,and eventually the food did arrive.The 2 young girls waitressing did seem a bit upset,with the episode,and eventually the other family did leave,and peace was restored.We were a bit dissapointed with one of the meals,but were offered a reduction off the final bill.Overall,it was an interesting evening,we will certainly return,having just moved into a nearby village,and was impressed with the hotel,grounds,river,and courteous staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our wedding was arranged with Lenwade House Hotel and a great day we had. We couldn't fault the service from all the staff that were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bridal suite is lush and all the rooms were very well decorated and equipped, the breakfast was good too.

Our day went to plan with great guidance and good recommendations for DJ and flowers, A+ all round.
Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lenwade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenwade Country House Hotel

Address: Fakenham Road, Lenwade NR9 5QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Lenwade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lenwade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lenwade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenwade Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.