We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean rooms, friendly staff.....at an economical rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal River Casino & Hotel

Royal River Casino & Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flandreau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal River Casino & Hotel
Save
You added Royal River Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
607 South Veterans Street, Flandreau, SD 57028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean rooms, friendly staff.....at an economical rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed two nights at the Royal River Casino and have no complaints. The room was comfortable and clean. The restaurant and the snack bar had good food at inexpensive prices. All the staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful. We actually wanted to stay in Pipestone MN, but the write-ups about the Pipestone MN hotelsmotels were so bad. Flandreau had an outstanding bakery also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Took a motorcycle trip from Minnesota and decided to head to a casino that was not too far away and had a hotel, restaurants and pool.

Drove up and for being in a very small town and no signs pointing to it from main street, it was a pretty large complex with huge parking lots.

We checked in... breeze... and found the rooms to be clean, average casino hotel rooms. The help was friendly when we requested a couple items. The casino is small, but they did have a large selection of games, rooms, bar (drink while playing we liked...very cold beer!), snack bar and many drink stations.

The pool was small (real small) and there is a hot tube that was warm. the restaurant was not too bad. We had a menu dinner one night and then the prime rib buffet another night and we found the food to be above average for a casino.

The highlight restaurant was Mad Mary's Steakhouse, we walked to it and found the food to be VERY good. All 4 of us had different selections and each of us would certainly go back. Many in town places within walking distance of the casino, there is a Subway and a nice modern coffee house that serves bakery items and sandwiches in the same area as Subway.

There is a large campground for the motorhomes and many sidewalks to get you exercise around the complex. There is a service station/convienence store near the campgound area.

All in all I would go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Very pleased with my room. at the Royal River Casino. I stayed during the week, and the rate was $50/nite for a large, nicely-furnished, very clean room.

I will agree with a previous poster that the buffet didn't look too appetizing. It appeared similiar to an Old Country Buffet, which is not a compliment. I am glad I had a good meal in Brookings before driving over.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We had a family gathering in Pipestone, MN and decided to check out the Royal River instead of staying at the Super 8 in Pipestone like we normally do. That Super 8 is bad. All in all, the Royal River was good enough. It is a 3 story hotel connected to the casino. The lobby is nice, with big leather chairs and couches and native american paintings on the walls. Before getting too critical of the property, I think it helped me to remember that the Royal River is located in a small South Dakota town of just over 2000 people. It's not Vegas. It's not even Sioux Falls. That said, the Royal River could step up to the times a little. You cannot book a reservation online, but must call their toll free number to book. Rooms were cheap I thought at $65 for a weekend night. When I checked in, the clerk asked me if I had a business card with me and if so, she could give me a 'business' rate. I did, and the rate dropped $7 to $58. The clerk didn't have to even offer that, and I thought it was a nice gesture.
We had our two kids along with and one of the reasons we wanted to stay at the Royal River was for their swimming pool. You can get wet, and the kids liked it, so it was good enough. It's small at 14x30 and there is also small hot tub. There are two small table and chair sets in the pool area, so for non-swimming parents to watch their kids, they could use a couple more chairs.
I don't know when the hotel was built, but its clearly a few years old and is showing some signs of age. Not big things, but items that if I was the general manager of the property, I would attend to. The bottoms of the metal door frames in the pool area have turned to rust and are disintegrating. There were also a lot of gouges in the walls along the interior hallways. They're probably from housekeeping carts rubbing up against the walls. But it would require nothing more than some touch up paint to fix it up and make it look a lot better.
The room itself was nice and it was clean. No problems to report at all. There was a coffee maker with coffee, an iron, table/chairs. Basic but adequate.
There is no fitness room at the hotel. The only other thing we checked out at the Royal River was the buffet. Relatively cheap depending on the meal and the day. Anywhere from $6 to $10. It was so-so. Old Country Buffet's are much better than our experience at Royal River's buffet if that helps gauge the restaurant.
All in all, for hunters or travelers to southern Minnesota or eastern South Dakota looking for a decent place that doesn't cost a ton, you'll be fine staying at the Royal River. We'll go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

My Husband was the coach driver of a tour from Winnipeg Canada,and I went with him.We both felt very welcome and comfortable.Our room was large, clean,and very pleasant staff.The buffet,both at dinner and breakfast,were excellant,with a nice variety of dishes,and the dining room staff were friendly and helpful.All in all,. it was a very enjoyable and impressive first visit.We will certainly go again to your lovely hotel and casino in our own car with the family on some furture visit to your area,
Thank you for the great service.Keep up the good work.

  • Liked — clean,comfortable,great staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

Clean, large room
Great breakfast & reasonably priced
Excellent service (both hotel and restaurant)
Good prices (lodging and food)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

As a Flandreau native, I had never had the need to stay at the hotel, but on our last trip home it was necessary. I was impressed with the quality of the hotel. Clean, nice decor etc. Non-smoking rooms were excellent. The only pause was when coming down from the rooms, we were going to walk through to see the restaraunt and casino and the smoke was too much. We did not go through the casino. But the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal River Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Casino & Hotel

Address: 607 South Veterans Street, Flandreau, SD 57028
Location: United States > South Dakota > Flandreau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening our doors in 1990, Royal River Casino & Hotel continues to be the preferred entertainment destination for excitement seekers in southeast South Dakota, southwest Minnesota, northwest Iowa and across the upper Midwest. Located just 35 minutes north of Sioux Falls, SD, Royal River Casino & Hotel fulfills every entertainment and relaxation need with the hottest casino filled with the loosest slots, highest payouts, black jack, roulette and poker; two restaurants offering a delicious variety of menu items and full buffet; soothing hotel rooms, and the best in events and entertainment….every day! The Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe is comprised primarily of descendents of "Mdewakantonwan", a member of the Isanti division of the Great Sioux Nation, and refer to themselves as Dakota, which means friend or ally. The Flandreau Santee Sioux Indian Reservation is 5,000 acres of combined trust and fee tribal land located along and near the Big Sioux River in Moody County, South Dakota, in a region know as the Prairie Coteau, which consists primarily of undulating or gently rolling land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal River Casino Bingo And Motel
Royal River Casino Bingo Hotel Flandreau
Royal River Hotel Bingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal River Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.